Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 29, 2007 / 13 Tamuz 5767

Patriotic movies

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | America's Independence Day might just as easily be called "Thanksgiving." We have so much to be thankful for as citizens of the United States. The brave soldiers, marines, sailors and flyers that have fought and died to keep America free are a blessing that each and every one of us needs to keep foremost in our minds on this holiday. The sacrifices made throughout our history by noble and brave patriots should never be taken for granted. Yes, God bless America, and also G-d bless the Americans who have paid the ultimate price to defend her.


You might go on a picnic or go to a baseball game, you might have a barbecue, or attend a firework display to celebrate America's birthday, but for me The Fourth of July is the perfect excuse for watching a bunch of 100% unapologetically patriotic classic movies. Everyone has their special favorites, of course, but if you need a few suggestions this Independence Day you might want to check out the following films that celebrate America and Americans. My list is by no means comprehensive, but it's a pretty good start. The films are:

Yankee Doodle Dandy

Johnny Tremain

1776

The Alamo (John Wayne's version)

Mr. Smith Goes to Washington

Sergeant York

Young Mr. Lincoln

Abe Lincoln in Illinois

She Wore a Yellow Ribbon

The Searchers

Gettysburg

The Fighting 69th

The Human Comedy

Our Vines Have Tender Grapes

I Remember Mama

Meet Me In St. Louis

George Washington Slept Here

The Yearling

It's a Wonderful Life

Hail the Conquering Hero

Buck Privates

The Best Years of Our Lives

Since You Went Away

The Hollywood Canteen

Command Decision

To Hell and Back

Lifeboat

They Were Expendable

Midway

The Longest Day

The Sands of Iwo Jima

The Fighting Sullivans

The Story of G.I. Joe

Strategic Air Command

We Were Soldiers


You'll note that many of these pictures are just what you might expect to see on a 4th of July list of patriotic movies; the American heroes, flag waving, the war pictures, and stories about the American home front during the war. These are certainly patriotic, uplifting films that tug at the heart and make us feel proud to be an American. "Yankee Doodle Dandy" was made in black and white and yet it is more red, white, and blue in it then any movie in color that I can think of. "Command Decision," for example, is as timely today as it was when it was released almost fifty years ago. "Since You Went Away" is a poignant story of the sacrifices that the families of our servicemen have made and continue to make.


But there are other heartwarming films on the list that showcase American values, growing up in America, and what it meant to be an American at various times in our history. There are also films on the list that feature the human dignity, bravery, and spirit that first generation Americans possessed in coming to this country.


Pictures like "I Remember Mama," "Our Vines Have Tender Grapes," "Meet Me in St. Louis," "It's a Wonderful Life," and even "The Searchers" celebrate strength of character, love of family, and a life experience that is uniquely American. And since possessing a sense of humor is as every bit American as possessing a sense of purpose or a sense of fairness, I have included a few comedies in the group, as well.


America's story is, in the final analysis, a story of its people — their beliefs, their desires, their dreams, and their faith and courage. I've tried to choose movies on this list which reflect those qualities. I hope you'll discover a couple that you've never seen before. And it never hurts to revisit a good picture that maybe you haven't seen for awhile. So make a big bowl of popcorn, pop in the tape or DVD and enjoy! And feel proud that you are one of the lucky people that can say, "I am an American!"


Happy Fourth of July!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles