Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 27, 2008 / 24 Sivan, 5768

America the Beautiful

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Well, we just got back from our excellent cross country adventure and I'm here to report that all went rather nicely. Even though we drove through the country's mid-section during all those horrendous thunderstorms, floods, and tornados, providence was with us and we escaped any and all mishaps. Sure, we had a few days of thunder and lightening, and there were times of pounding rain, but we got through it and it really didn't impact or alter our travel plans at all.


This time we took US route 50 most of the way across and what a pleasure it was! We drove through small towns and villages and encountered very few big trucks, no traffic to speak of, and enjoyed the beautiful countryside. Quite a different experience than taking the big nerve-racking, super-duper interstate highways like 70 or 40. It was actually relaxing!


US 50 is known as "the Loneliest Road in America," and for much of it, it certainly is. 50 is one of the longest highways in the country, stretching from Ocean City, Maryland, to Sacramento, California, and passing through Washington D.C., Cincinnati, St. Louis, Kansas City, Carson City, Lake Tahoe, and Central Colorado. A sign at Ocean City declares this coast-to-coast highway is 3,073 miles long.


Once upon a time Route 50 extended all the way across to San Francisco, but California legislation in 1972 shortened it - stopping the route at Sacramento. Even so, Highway 50 is still regarded as one of the last coast-to-coast highways that remain intact -- since the road to San Francisco was merely replaced with Interstate names. Time Magazine called Route 50 "the backbone of America" and after driving it I can understand why. It is a great way to see Middle America first hand.


Driving across on the Interstates, you begin to think that America is made up of nothing but Holiday Inn Expresses, Marriott's, Burger King's and Denny's. By contrast, talking Highway 50, you definitely get a sense of small town America with its beautiful rolling hills, green pastures, quaint small towns, and family farms. It's a trip every American should take at least once in his life.


And what a wonderful drive for animal lovers! We saw deer, elk, opossums, rabbits, sheep, llama, goats, lamb, even a mamma duck with her ducklings following behind, and more dairy cows than you can imagine, and a load of bulls. Horses, horses, horses everywhere - some of them magnificent looking as they grazed and pranced in lush corrals.


As we drove through the Rockies and into the Painted Desert our hearts swelled with wonderment at God's beautiful handiwork. The incredible red rocks which make up much of Moab, Utah can take your breath away. The forests of West Virginia have another kind of beauty all their own. And Kansas has a quiet pastoral landscape that is unlike any other place. Even the corn fields and wheat fields seem to have a different appearance from state to state. I know it sounds corny, but really, each state has its own unique charm.


I don't know how any American could make the drive we did, and not feel engulfed by patriotism. How could you not feel pride? Pride in the country with its glorious mountains, deserts, plains and forestland. Pride in the people who work their farms, ranches, and small businesses. Pride in the whole American ethic that has made our country what it is - the greatest country on earth.


As we traveled along, we couldn't help but recall the words of America the Beautiful, each line of the song proving to be absolutely true as we witnessed the beauty with our own eyes.


O beautiful for spacious skies,
For amber waves of grain,
For purple mountain majesties
Above the fruited plain!
America! America!
G-d shed His grace on thee
And crown Thy good with brotherhood
From sea to shining sea!


How lucky we are! How blessed! America the Beautiful. Indeed she is. May we always do right by her and may God keep her and guard her always.


Happy Independence Day to you all!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles