Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 13 / 10 Sivan, 5768

Boys Town

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I received a gift in the mail today - an honorary certificate along with a citizenship card for Boys Town. I am now an official Honorary Citizen of the famous Nebraska village which was started by Father Flanagan over 90 years ago. Boys Town is one of the charitable organizations that my wife and I have donated to through the years. I first became aware of it, probably like most people, through the 1938 MGM movie starring Spencer Tracy and Mickey Rooney.


My citation reads as follows: "In appreciation of Assistance Rendered Father Flanagan's Boys' Home Presents Mr. Greg Crosby the Title of 2008 Honorary Citizen. This Certificate of Appointment has therefore been issued by the Officers and Governing Board of Boys Town under the authority vested in them by the Citizens." Signed Father Steven E. Boes, National Executive Director.


If you think this citation makes me proud, you're right. I feel great about it. Honorary Citizenship is a time honored tradition dating back to 1937. If you think I received it because I gave a ton of money to Boys Town, you're wrong. I only send in maybe 10 or 20 bucks a year - I wish I could afford to send more, but we give what we can afford to give and we do give to other charities as well. So you see, even though I'm not one of Boys Town's heavy-duty, rich patrons, they nevertheless saw fit to make me an Honorary Citizen. I like it. Makes me feel like Mickey Rooney or something.


I guess I'm just an old softy. I cry whenever I watch the Boys Town movie and see the part where Pee Wee gets hit by a car. Gets me every time. I really like the whole idea of Boys Town - a place where troubled and homeless boys can go to ultimately become good men. A place where they're taught right from wrong, good manners, self discipline, and how to work with others. Father Flanagan's motto "There's no such thing as a bad boy" is such a wonderful thought. I don't know if it's true or not, but the optimism and faith behind those words is a pretty terrific thing.


The story of Boys Town really does read like a movie story. Father Edward J. Flanagan came to Omaha, Nebraska in 1913, during a drought that year which filled the streets with unemployed farm workers. When he saw the many homeless young boys outside his Workingmen's Hotel for impoverished men, Father came up with his philosophy that assisting a boy when he was young might prevent him from turning into a homeless man.


On December 12, 1917, Father Flanagan borrowed $90 dollars from an anonymous friend believed to be Henry Monsky and opened the first Father Flanagan's Boys' Home, a nonsectarian, non-proselytizing home for boys. It was an old run-down Victorian mansion near downtown Omaha. Five boys were the first to benefit from Father's vision, and those first residents barely had time to get settled before a steady stream of additional boys began to arrive.


The boys were sent by the court, referred by sympathetic citizens, and many times simply wandered in on their own. The front door was never locked, and any boy who came was allowed to enter, regardless of race, color or creed. There was hardly enough money to feed them, but these boys received stronger nourishment than food - love, care, patience and understanding in rich quantities. And that's how Father Flanagan began his effort to rehabilitate children instead of imprisoning them.


As the population of boys increased, bigger and bigger quarters were needed. Finally, in 1936, the village of Boys Town was incorporated and became an official village of the state of Nebraska. The elected their own government, mayor, council, and commissioners and even had their own post office. To this day, Boys Town has the youngest voting population in America, with an elected government run by the students.


Father Flanagan always said there would be no fences and no locks on the doors of Boys Town. He said, "I am not building a prison. This is a home. You do not wall in members of your own family." You got to love a guy like that.


The front of my Boys Town Citizenship card looks pretty impressive and official. The back of the card is printed with a simple prayer.


A Prayer for a Good Day


Dear Lord,

Just for today I will be happy.
I am going to need your help.
I will not dwell on thoughts that depress me.
I will replace them with happy thoughts.


Just for today I will make a big effort
to be agreeable.
I will be cheerful, Lord. I will not be crabby.
I will lift my face in a smile instead of a frown.


I will remember fondly the warmth of
hugging another.
I will hug someone today.
I will even hug my dog or my cat.


Today, Lord, I will do something good for
someone else.
I will not count the cost.
I will not ask the price.


Dear Lord, thanks for listening
to my grand plans.
Above all, just give me a smile,
And a helping hand to get me through my day.


Amen

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles