Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 5, 2009 / 13 Sivan 5769

No Shame in Dodgertown

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When an executive at a major corporation is accused of wrongdoing you can hear the public outrage from one end of the country to the other. If that exec turns out to be an oil man, an auto maker, a banker or a pharmaceutical guy, look out! Then the lynch mobs really come out in full force demanding the death penalty or least imprisonment for life. The media delightfully joins in the lynching. No mercy. No quarter given. OFF WITH THEIR HEADS!


So why is it that this outrage doesn't extend into sports? How come cheaters like Manny Ramirez are just fine with so many people? Why aren't the fans angry? More than that, why isn't the Dodger organization angry? They got snookered. They paid a fortune for this player and he turned out to be a cheater, taking steroids, performance enhancing drugs, knowingly defying the rules of baseball. And there is no doubt that he did.


Not only is Ramirez not being shunned; he is actually being treated like the victim of this whole thing. People think, I don't know, maybe he was just sitting around minding his own business one day when some Columbian drug dealers snuck up on him and forced the junk into him. He didn't want it, they made him do it. Poor Manny.


The fans got snookered too. They should be mad as hell. Thousands of loyal Dodger fans bought tickets for games thinking they would see Ramirez play and now they won't. He wasn't injured. He wasn't traded. It wasn't an act of God that has deprived the fans of their beloved Manny; it was an act of selfish cheating. Cheating by the player that so many kids looked up to. Yes, why aren't the fans mad as hell? When Ramirez took those illegal drugs, he wasn't only cheating major league baseball and the Dodgers, he was cheating his fans.


The entire Dodger organization has been very quiet on the whole mess. Dodger owner Frank McCourt has never come out strongly against Ramirez. As a matter of fact, McCourt seems to be perfectly okay with the idea that Ramirez might well be playing in the upcoming All-Star game. When he was asked about Ramirez's potential as the fourth-leading vote-getter among National League outfielders to appear in this year's game McCourt said, "Do I want to see him? Sure, if he gets voted in. It'd be a great honor."


This low key attitude of the Dodgers makes me think that maybe they have something more to hide. Maybe they knew Ramirez was taking the stuff all along. Maybe they know of other players in their club who are still taking steroids. I don't know. But usually when an organization takes the zipped lip approach to a scandal, it generally means that there is a lot more going on then we know. I hope I'm wrong.


In a larger sense, this is just another example of what I call the lack of shame in our society. Once upon a time people did bad or wrong things and if they got caught, they would feel some degree of shame. They were ashamed of themselves. It was shame too that would keep a lot of people form doing wrong in the first place. That shame factor is missing in much of our daily lives.


I first became aware of the lack of shame during the Clinton / Monica Lewinski scandal. It was clear to me that Clinton had absolutely no shame at all (even after the DNA evidence proved beyond a doubt what he and she did in the Oval Office of the White House). The man felt no remorse, no shame. And neither did many of his apologists, including many senators and congressmen.


And this lack of shame extends into so many other aspects of our lives. There seems to be no shame related to how people look in public. Pants pulled down almost to the groin, fat, sloppy, exposed midriffs, dirty-looking hair, multi-tattoos and holes pierced in faces are commonplace sights across the globe. I remember feeling ashamed to be seen in public if my hair wasn't combed or my shirt wasn't tucked into my trousers.


Using bad manners or dirty words in public used to be a cause for shame too. Not anymore. I've heard the crudest language being uttered by teenage girls in supermarkets and malls, words that grown men in the old days would never have said outside of a prison or army barracks. You look at the faces of these kids and you just know that they don't even think they're saying anything offensive. No shame.


There are so many examples of the lack of shame in today's culture that I could write a book on it. Matter of fact, if you add up all the times I've covered this subject in my columns over the years it would probably make two or three books.


I just hope the baseball fans still have enough sense of pride and integrity not to vote for a cheater to play in the All-Star game. If they do, it really would be a crying shame.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles