Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 11, 2007 / 22 Iyar 5767

Fairy Tale Weddings

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | That high pitched humming sound you hear is coming from Walt Disney's grave as he spins faster than Paris Hilton's overpriced attorneys attempting to plead her case.


In case you haven't heard, The Walt Disney Company is now offering "Fairy Tale Wedding" ceremonies for homosexual and lesbian couples at their two U.S. theme parks and on their cruise ships. The package was previously not available to homosexuals but that policy has been, um, altered, if you pardon the expression.


As quoted by Reuters last month, Disney Parks and Resorts spokesman Donn Walker said, "We are updating our Fairy Tale Wedding guidelines to include commitment ceremonies. This is consistent with our policy of creating a welcoming, respectful and inclusive environment for all of our guests." Walker said the change was prompted by "an inquiry from a guest that asked about this service." But the fact is, the change in policy came after a homosexual Web site, AfterElton.com, criticized Disney for not allowing same-sex couples to participate in the Fairy Tale Weddings and Honeymoons program.


All together now, sing along with me, "It's a gay world af-ter all … it's a gay world af-ter all … it's a gay world af-ter all, it's a gay, gay world."


As it says on the Disney Wedding web site: "Walk down the aisle of your very own fairy tale come true. Enjoy the enchantment of ceremonies and receptions set against magical backdrops, unparalleled entertainment and savory menus as your personal "fairy godplanner" grants your every wish and ensures your wedding day is everything you have always dreamt it would be. This is the magic of Disney's Fairy Tale Weddings. Let us make your wedding dreams come true."


That's right, starting from about $8,000 any Larry or Chuck can live out their personal fantasy by having a fairy princess or Tinkerbelle wedding. Any Roxanne or Loretta can imagine themselves as "King of the Wild Frontier" or a pirate of the Caribbean as they exchange vows. The price includes the wedding planner, the ceremony, flowers, table decorations and food and beverages — pixie dust not included.


"Avast me hardies, ho yo. Yo, ho, yo, ho, a pirate's life for me…"


Until last month the Disney wedding package was available only to straight couples because a valid California or Florida marriage license was required. But hey, why let a little thing like a wedding license stand in the way of a wedding ceremony? I mean this is Fantasyland after all, isn't it?


The Lavish Wedding Option also includes a ride to the ceremony in the Cinderella coach, costumed trumpeters heralding the couple's arrival, and attendance by Mickey and Minnie Mouse characters dressed in formal attire. That's what was done for the straight couples. I wonder if they will use two Mickeys for homosexual couples and two Minnies for Lesbians couples. Why not? Will a fairy godmother wave a magic wand over the heads of the happy homosexual couples as they exchange vows? "Abracadabra! Alakazam! Bibbity, bobbity, boo! I now pronounce you husband and husband. Or wife and wife. Or whatever and whatever."


"When you wish upon a star …makes no difference what you are."


Fairy godmothers, magic, wish fulfillment, people that can fly, elephants that can fly, wooden puppets that become real live boys, impoverished little girls who become princesses, sleeping beauties waiting for their prince to awaken them with true love's kiss, creatures who are different from everyone else but finally get accepted for what they are, ugly ducklings that transform into beautiful swans — all this is the stuff that Disney has stood for. It also is the stuff of homosexual imagination and fantasy.


There have been "Gay Day" celebrations at Disney's theme parks for years so I guess this is just another logical step for "the happiest (gayest?) place on earth." For those of us who still believe strongly that marriage should remain as it has since time began, as a special commitment between one man and one woman, this gay Disney wedding business is just plain ludicrous. Most people still believe that the only legitimate marriage, by definition, is between a man and a woman. Anything else is nothing but a sham — a make believe wedding. But come to think of it, what better place for a "make-believe" wedding than the ultimate "make-believe" place — Disneyland.


I guess we will be seeing more and more of this kind of nonsense as our society gets more and more upside-down and inside-out. Call me an old fashioned traditionalist, but I long for the time when marriage was for an adult man and woman. And Disney fantasy was mostly for children.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles