Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 9, 2008 / 4 Iyar 5768

Coffee Break

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Only in Los Angeles, the official capital of overindulgence, ostentation, and superficiality, would you find an article in the front page business section of the paper bemoaning the fact that the economy is so bad that Southern Californians have been forced to cut back on their five dollar cups of boutique coffee. Oh, boohoo. "Learning to cope with the growing pain of costly coffee" the L.A. Times headline cried out.


The article goes on to say that more and more people have had to go to McDonald's instead of Starbucks for their morning coffee, or even, (heaven forbid!) make it at home for themselves. Can you imagine? Man, we must really be into a bad recession if folks have to actually make their own coffee at home.


Let me tell you something, personally I never understood the whole $5 cup of coffee thing. It never made any sense to me why people would pay exorbitant prices for what costs pennies to make. Many years ago when the Starbucks fad first took off, I avoided it. Then one time I found myself at an airport with time to kill and wanting a cup of coffee. The only place to get coffee in the immediate vicinity of my gate was a Starbucks. I broke down and bought a cup of coffee. Not only was it expensive, I didn't think it was very good. That was my one and only Starbucks adventure.


And another thing, what's the deal with purposely not using those common, ordinary English terms, "small, medium and large" to describe the size of coffee cups at Starbucks? Using foreign words and obscure phrases is just another way of jerking around the stupid public to think they're getting something exotic and special. Well, guess what? They're not getting anything exotic or special - they're getting a really overpriced cup of lousy coffee, that's all.


I've drunk coffee for most of my life and I know good from watery, from bitter, from mediocre. I buy good quality coffee beans from the supermarket, grind them at home each morning and brew a pot of coffee that's as good as or better than anywhere in town. I'm not saying I'm some kind of coffee wizard, I'm saying that making a decent, rich tasting cup of coffee isn't rocket science.


Yes, I know the Starbucks experience is much more than just coffee. It's all about being with the right crowd, a place to see and be seen. Hanging around, pretending to read a newspaper, going on-line with your laptop, and being oh, so cool - all this is part of the whole boutique coffee thing. I get it. But I don't want it. It's phony. It's shallow. And it is soooo LA it makes me want to throw up.


So it's not as "cool" to buy a cup of coffee at the 7/11 as it is to spend big bucks at the fancy designer coffee joints? It's much more chic to buy pretentious grande caramel triple latte with extra foam from the pimply-faced kid with the phony job description of "baristas," right? First of all, call them what they are - coffee jerks. Kids that poured sodas were called soda jerks, these kids pour coffee, they're coffee jerks. Baristas? You know what? GET OVER YOURSELVES! GROW UP!


A lackluster economy affects different people differently. So while ordinary people in other parts of the country have lost their factory jobs because of overseas manufacturing, and lost their homes due to over extending themselves with loans, and mortgaged their futures by getting further and further into debt, the poor, poor Hollywood elites have had to cut back on their mocha lattes, double espressos, and decaffeinated cappuccinos. Oh, boohoo. Double boohoo, with extra foam on top!


What's next? If the economy gets any worse Hollywood honchos may be forced to drive their own cars. The Beverly Hills crowd may have to let their live-in personal trainers and aromatherapists go. Movie stars might have to get by with only a half dozen estrogen injections a year and no more than one or two elective cosmetic/surgical procedures. The recreational drug market in tinsel town might experience a slump, or at least a bit of a dip. Tattoo parlor visits might have to be cut back to once a week. I tell you, we live in desperate times for the beautiful people.


Unless the economy turns around soon Rob Reiner may be down to only 6 or 7 meals a day. Richard Gere will certainly starve without his rice deliveries. Lindsay Lohan might have to make a choice between cocaine OR alcohol. And Barbra Streisand may have to auction off more collectables from yet another Malibu beach front estate. Boy oh boy. It's rough out here folks. Rough.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles