Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 1, 2009 / 7 Iyar 5769

Honor Mother

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In case you missed it, we have just gone through that yearly observance which used to be called, "Secretary's Day" but is now referred to, in our more politically correct enlightened era as "Administrative Professionals Day." (Never mind that an "administration professional" is a nebulous term which encompasses all levels of administrators including the bosses themselves, and thus waters down the focus on the secretary - the person who is the actual honoree.)


The fact is, Administrative Professionals Day has now become a week, as so many other yearly celebrations have. The reason being, I suppose, that there simply is not enough time in one single day to bestow all the honors upon the administrative professionals that they deserve. Perhaps even a week is not enough - could there be an administrative professionals month in our future?


As our calendars become more and more crowded with long playing non-event events such as African American History Month, Latino Heritage Month, Asian Pacific Islander Month, and Himalayan Cultural Month, let us at this time turn our attention to that one day which was established as a national holiday 95 years ago to honor someone who really does deserve to be honored - mother.


Mother's Day as we know it was started in 1907 by Anna Jarvis, a school teacher in Philadelphia, who began a movement to set up a national Mother's Day in honor of her mother, Ann Maria Reeves Jarvis. She solicited the help of hundreds of legislators and prominent businessmen to create a special day to honor mothers. The first Mother's Day observance was a church service honoring Anna's mother. At that time Anna handed out her mother's favorite flowers, white carnations, representing sweetness, purity, and patience.


Anna was no dummy. In 1912 she trademarked the phrases "second Sunday in May" and "Mother's Day" and created the Mother's Day International Association. Anna's hard work finally paid off in the year 1914, when President Woodrow Wilson proclaimed the second Sunday in May as a national holiday in honor of mothers.


It's interesting to note that Anna was very specific concerning the apostrophe in Mother's Day; it had to be a singular possessive, for each family to honor their mother, not a plural possessive commemorating all mothers in the world. This is also the spelling used by Wilson in the law making it an official U.S. holiday and by Congress. Slowly and gradually the Mother's day became very popular and gift giving activity increased. All this commercialization of the Mother's day angered Anna as she believed that the day's sentiment was being sacrificed at the expense of greed and profit.


Anna would probably be happy to know that Mother's Day never grew into Mother's Month and it probably never will. However the day has been hijacked somewhat by the politically correct forces in our society of late in an effort to turn it into an observance of women's breast cancer awareness day. This is like turning Father's Day into testicle cancer awareness day. Mother's Day should be the day that is set aside to honor one's mother, period. Do cancer awareness at another time, please. August would be a good month for example. Nothing much goes on in August.


The 5th Commandment states "Honor your father and mother." In America we as a nation do exactly that on the second Sunday in May and the third Sunday in June every year. As individuals, of course, we should honor our parents all year 'round. As far as religion is concerned, to honor doesn't mean to love, to excuse, to respect, or even to forgive. It means only to honor. Showing honor to your parents is the commandment. Loving and respecting is an extra special plus, so if you have parents that you dearly love and respect, as I did, then so much the better and good for you!


It has been over 3 years now since my mother has been gone and not a day goes by that I don't miss her terribly. This Mother's Day I wish I could again look into her eyes and tell her how much she has meant to me, how grateful I am for all she did for me, and yes, how much I loved her. I will never be able to do that anymore. Thank G-d I did it when I had the chance - Mom knew how much I loved her.


Remember your mother this Mother's Day and honor her. I will remember mine and I continue to honor her.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles