Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 27, 2007 / 9 Iyar 5767

A Birthday Present from Doris Day

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Sometimes the best presents come to us in the most unexpected and unusual ways.


A couple of weeks ago in a local community paper in Toluca Lake called "The Tolucan Times," actress Jackie Joseph's column was dedicated to wishing Doris Day a happy birthday. Several years ago I wrote a column about Doris in which I talked about her many talents and accomplishments in the entertainment industry. I wrote of how she started as a big band singer and went on to become a popular recording artist, an accomplished actress, movie star, television star, and America's sweetheart. I mentioned that what makes Doris and her body of work truly special is that she did it all with so much class. And as we all know, class is a commodity which is sorely lacking in show business today.


When I wrote that column back in 2001 I had no idea that Miss Day would ever know about it let alone read it, but last week in "The Tolucan Times" I found out that she had. Not only did she read the piece, but evidently she loved it and was moved by it. Wow! Well, that makes us even, Miss Day - since I have loved you and have been moved by your work for so many years.


So it happened that on the occasion of Doris Day's birthday, she sent a sweet present to me via Jackie Joseph. Thank you Doris for that, and for all the wonderful songs and movie memories. You are still an A number one class act - and still cute as a button to boot. Happy belated birthday to you! Give those puppies a hug for me. Be well.


(For those who may have not seen the column, it is reprinted below)


A Beautiful Day



So much going on in show biz — so little talent. Ugly television, bad taste toilet-humor movies, and recording artists who can't sing. Thank goodness we have classic recordings and films. The good news is that the golden age of entertainment in the 20th Century is all alive and well and available on video and DVD's and on records, tape and CD's. Lucky for me — otherwise I'd have nothing to listen to or watch.


Next time you get fed up with today's junk, I recommend you pause for a breath of fresh air. In two words: Doris Day. A truly underestimated talent. Doris Day did it all and did it with class. Big band singer, actress, recording star, movie star and television star. And cute as a button to boot.


She sang with the Bob Crosby and Les Brown bands before making her way into movies. Her hit recording of "Sentimental Journey" is perhaps the definitive version of that tune. Later she recorded such hits as, "It's Magic," "Secret Love," "Everybody Loves A Lover," "Love Me Or Leave Me," and what would become her theme song, "Whatever Will Be, Will Be (Que Sera, Sera)." She had a wonderfully sweet quality to her voice that made listening to her a pleasure.


At Warner Bros. she began in light-weight musical/comedies starring opposite Burbank's answer to Hope and Crosby, Dennis Morgan and Jack Carson. These were fluffy, fun little pictures that gave Miss Day an opportunity to showcase her singing and hone her acting. If you've never seen "It's A Great Feeling" (1949) check it out. It's a real hoot.


She quickly graduated to more serious "A" material and was teamed with the likes of Gordon MacRae, Kirk Douglas and James Cagney. She was at her bouncy, belting best giving Howard Keel a hard time in "Calamity Jane," one of my favorite Doris Day pictures. In "Love Me Or Leave Me" she delivered a strong performance as nightclub singer, Ruth Etting and was wonderful playing opposite James Stewart in Alfred Hitchcock's "The Man Who Knew Too Much."


In the late fifties and early sixties she starred in a series of successful screwball comedies with romantic leading men like Cary Grant, Rock Hudson, and James Gardner and was nominated for an Oscar for one of them, "Pillow Talk" (1959).


"The Doris Day Show" was a hit on television in the late sixties and early seventies. Miss Day returned to television in the mid-eighties as host of a cable show called "Doris Day and Friends."


What a varied performer she is! If you haven't had a date with Doris for awhile, do yourself a favor and renew the acquaintance. Pick up a CD of her songs or rent "Calamity Jane" or any one of her movies. I guarantee you'll fall in love with her all over again. Talent and beauty and class. What a concept!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles