Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 13, 2007 / 25 Nissan 5767

Bad Boys

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Sometimes, on an evening when there is nothing else to watch and my wife and I want to just veg out and watch something easy and noncommittal on television, she will suggest that we put on "Cops," the reality show where a cameraman rides along with real honest-to-goodness police in a prowl car as they go about doing their duties. By the way, for all you readers under the age of 60, a "prowl car" was what they used to call "squad car." For readers under the age of 50, "squad car" was what they used to call "patrol car."


I think what my wife likes about "Cops" is the fact that we actually see real bad guys get caught by real police officers. I like that, too. In this day and age when so many crumbs seem to get away with everything, including murder, it's a real cathartic viewing experience to see bad guys apprehended and (hopefully) punished for the crimes they commit. It's like when you're driving in your car and you see a jerk in a $65,000 Mercedes whip a U-turn in the middle of a busy street and then get nailed by a cop. You say, "YEAH! That's the way it's supposed to be!"


We've been watching this show off and on for years now, and there are a couple of things that I just don't get. One thing is, why do so many of the police officers shave their heads like the gang members do? Why would a cop want to look like the lowlifes they are pursuing? Listen, I know what the bad guys look like; I want the good guys to look differently. I don't want our soldiers in the Middle East running around in head scarves, robes, and big black moustaches, and I don't want our cops here at home looking like gangbangers.


Another thing that has become evident after watching many episodes shot in cities all over the United States is, the cops all talk alike, no matter what part of the country they work in. A cop in Bakersfield, California sounds like a cop in Kansas City and like a cop in Denver, Colorado and like a cop in Miami, Florida. They all use the same phrases and speech patterns, and this is the really strange thing, they all have the same accents. It's as if they all grew up the same neighborhood. Now why would that be? Is there a national cop school that all rookies attend to learn how to sound the same?


For my taste, the police on those shows treat the crooks way too gently. There is much too much politeness in the way the bums are handled. For instance, an officer will approach an obvious strung-out doper, filthy dirty, tattooed from top to bottom, with no driver's license and a belligerent attitude and say something like, "Excuse me, sir, would you step out of the car please?" This is no good. I want the cop to say, "Out of the car, you ugly-looking piece of human garbage!" as he bodily pulls the punk out of the vehicle and onto the ground face first. That's what I want.


Oh, and don't refer to the slob who has just broken parole, held up a convenience store and engaged in a 45 minute high speed chase as "the gentleman." Gentleman? Are you kidding me? The proper title for that person would be something so utterly unprintable in this space that I wouldn't be able to even use the initials. But that's what the police should call him, not "gentleman."


Of course they can't call the bad guys names or treat them the way they deserve to be treated or else the ACLU and other groups would hit the local police departments with so many lawsuits that they wouldn't be able to do their job at all. So they handle the crooks and scoundrels with kid gloves and respect, no matter how much abuse is thrown at them. I know I couldn't do it - I'd want to put on those kid gloves and punch those guys in their ugly faces.


The bad guys know only too well the limitations that the cops are under and they use every opportunity to take advantage of that. They know that unlike in the movies when cops would say, "stop or I'll shoot," real police can't do that. So the bad guys will attempt to outrun the cops - either on foot or in a car. Maybe if the criminals thought they might get shot they wouldn't take off so fast, but they know damn well the cop can't fire his gun at the "suspect" so they figure it's worth a try.


As frustrating as it is to witness how hampered the police are in their ability to fight crime, it does the heart good to see the majority of the bums get arrested and taken it - at least on the show. People want the bad guys to lose and good guys to win - and that in a nutshell must be why "Cops" has been such a popular program all these years. In real life it doesn't always work that way, too many bad guys win. Fortunately for society, there are always some good guys who want to become cops to protect the rest of us. G-d bless them.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles