Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 15, 2008 / 9 Adar I 5768

His Excellency George Washington

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Talk about good timing, just in time for his birthday, I just finished reading a wonderful biography on George Washington. The book is entitled "His Excellency George Washington" by Joseph J. Ellis and I recommend it highly, especially if you've never read anything specific on the father of our country. Ellis is a professor of history at Mount Holyoke College and won the Pulitzer Prize for a previous work, "Founding Brothers," which examined the challenges of the men who worked together to bring about America's founding.


Ellis drew his research for the Washington book from the newly catalogued Washington papers at the University of Virginia and has created a biography which is not only detailed and insightful, but as readable as a cracking good suspense novel. The book charts a course through George Washington's private life and career which examines the humanness of the man as well as the events which shaped his leadership decisions. In reading this book you really get to know just what made George Washington the great man that he was.


Most importantly, Ellis puts Washington's life and deeds in the proper context of his own time, eighteenth-century America, as opposed to many revisionist history books which seek to judge our forefathers by today's politically correct standards. But this book is no whitewashing of facts, either - it paints an historically accurate portrait of the man, and does so with style and thoughtfulness.


I thought I knew most of the George Washington story, but I really didn't know him at all. The famous story of little George chopping down the cherry tree that kids of earlier generations wore told, wasn't mentioned in the book - this is a work of absolute fact, not tall stories. And the facts are far more intriguing.


For instance, I knew that Washington was from Virginia, but I didn't realize that he was a fourth-generation Virginian. John Washington, the patriarch of the family, came over from England in 1657. George Washington was a staunch, patriotic American, even before America was a sovereign nation.


Likewise, I never knew how much Washington respected and worked with (and for) the American Indians - and how they respected and worked with him. Washington devised a policy to create several sovereign Indian "homelands." He believed that "Indians being the prior occupants possess the right of the soil …to dispossess them…would be a gross violation of the fundamental Laws of Nature and of that distributive justice which is the glory of a nation." Working to ensure that the Indians got a fair deal in this new nation was Washington's major preoccupation of his first term.


I came away from the biography with added respect and admiration for "His Excellency George Washington." By the way, the designation "His Excellency" was bestowed upon Washington many years before he ever became president. The Massachusetts and New York legislatures wrote congratulatory letters to him using that title when he was Commander in Chief of the Continental army. "His Excellency" became Washington's official title for the remainder of the war.


The book was published in 2004 so it might not be easy to find in bookstores. You could probably get a hold of a copy on the internet or certainly at your local library. I must admit that I've had my copy for a year or so and have now just gotten around to reading it. But then I've always been a bit slow to get with some things, my wife can testify to that fact.


The enormity of Washington's accomplishments is stunning. His character and spirit was undaunting. His integrity set the standard for every other president to follow. And speaking of good timing, what unbelievably providential timing for America that George Washington came upon the scene when he did. How fortunate for all of us, because without him, the creation of our country as we know it might never have happened. Washington most definitely was the right man in the right place at the right time.


Make it your business this February 22nd to spend some time thinking about the father of our country. And do try to find "His Excellency George Washington." Get to know him a little better. After all he did for you; it's the least you can do in return. Happy birthday, George! And happy George Washington's Birthday to us all!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles