Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 1, 2008 / 25 Shevat 5768

Hos, Hos, Hos

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We've got hos all over the place. Hos to the right of me. Hos to the left of me. Hos north and Hos south. And now, Hos west. I haven't heard so many "Hos" since Santa was around. Ho, ho, ho. But it's not the laugh I'm referring to, nor is it the slang expression for ladies of the evening - I'm talking about the place. The first time I heard the word associated with an area, it was made in reference to the section in New York City south of Houston Street - Soho. Of course the first Soho was that famous section of London. You had Soho, London and Soho, New York, but that was about all there was for the longest time.


Until one day they gentrified North Hollywood California and it suddenly became NoHo. The name sounds much more artsy and hip then stodgy old North Hollywood, right? And last week I'm reading an article in the LA Times, and in it they refer to a store located in West Hollywood, but they don't call it West Hollywood. It's WeHo.


So now we've got SoHo, NoHo, and WeHo. I'm waiting for the last shoe to drop - the next logical entry has got to be the only direction left, East Hollywood. I'm waiting for EaHo. Remember Waiting For Nemo? I'm waiting for EaHo. I don't know, I don't get around much, so maybe they're already calling the place that. I suppose the correct way to pronounce that would be with a long "E" and no "A" sound. EeHo.


So if one lives north of Hollywood it's NoHo, and west of Hollywood is WeHo, and East of Hollywood is EaHo. What if you live in the hills "above" Hollywood? Would that area be called AHo? Or would it be called HiHo because you live "high" over Hollywood? Just as the section of lower Hollywood would be known as LoHo. Some folks live in HiHo, some in LoHo and others in WeHo and EaHo and NoHo.


If you live in Hollywood and are really close to the Hollywood Bowl then you live in Hobo. If you live north of the Hollywood Bowl you're in NoHoBo. But if you live in a house in that area that isn't too special then you live in SoSoNoHoBo.


People who live north of Northridge live in NoNo. Anyone west of Westwood lives in WeWe. Folks south of Downy live in SoDown. People north of Boston live in NoBo. Lower Boston is LoBo. The section north of Hoboken is NoHoBo. Living north of Youngstown, Ohio? -then you live in NoYo,Ohio. If John Lennon's widow moves there, she becomes Ono from NoYo. Or they might call her YoNo Yoko Ono.


North Toluca Lake residents live in NoToLa. A North Hollywood bank is NoHo Wamu. It sounds like you're on the wagon if you live south of Burbank because then you'd be telling people you live in SoBur. Got a place just west of Needles, California? - then you must be in hot dog country - WeNe.


People love to shorten names of things either by using acronyms or nick-names. It happens with businesses all the time. I wonder how many people could come up with the actual full name of AT&T? Or ARCO? Or ALCOA? Nobody says the New York Police Department, it's always the NYPD. Los Angeles International airport is simply LAX. Even McDonald's has been chopped to Mickey D's, for heaven sake. Is nothing sacred?


Using initials for one's name is nothing new. T.S. Eliot, H.G. Wells and J.P. Getty all come to mind. Presidents have been referred to by their initials, at least the ones from the Democratic Party anyhow, FDR, JFK, LBJ. For some reason or another, they don't use the three initials of Republican presidents. I wonder why not.


Show biz folks have historically used the initial thing, too. D.W. Griffith, P.T. Barnum, and L.B. Mayer to name three. Even Emenem is nothing more than initials spelled out. And of course Jennifer Lopez is J Lo.


For a while I toyed with shortening my name to G Cro but my wife wouldn't go for it. It would mean that her name would be J Cro and that's unacceptable. Besides, G & J Cro sounds like some kind of inexpensive discount store where they sell overstocked and discontinued items at below cost. You know, "Hey, let's drive over to G & J Cro and pick up a case of those sliced pickled beets."


If I went by my three initials I would be GMC, but I'd rather not sound like a major automobile manufacturer, if you don't mind. Sometimes shortening a name just doesn't cut it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles