Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 18, 2008 / 11 Shevat 5768

The adults have left the building

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Most everybody over the age of say, 45 or 50, is well aware of the childishness so prevalent in all aspects of our contemporary society. Most people just go along with the flow, since there is very little that any individual can do to change it. Some adults really love it, however, and even embrace the immature, self-indulgent attitudes and activities which make up so much of our daily lives today. But some of us hate the fact that maturity and sophistication has mostly disappeared from the scene. The "adults" have left the building! We're all children now.


Plenty of books and articles have been written on this phenomenon. We see it and experience it wherever we go - there's no getting away from it. Music, theater, movies, television certainly, are all geared to youth. Most adults dress like children, act like children and speak like children. The term "acting grown up" is an archaic ideal, one that is both laughed at and avoided.


I wrote a column many years ago entitled "My Peter Pan Generation" referring to the baby boomers and how they just don't want to grow up. One obvious example of the degree of childishness in our society is the way grownup people are now being referred to by using the first name only. It's not Mr. Jones or Miss Smith anymore, it's Jimmy and Debbie. This relaxing of formal address succeeds in not only removing the stiffness; it removes respect for adults and authority, and turns everyone into equal playmates. "Bobby" may be a ten year old - or he might be eighty-five. Ashley may be a four year old at daycare, or she may be the CEO of a large corporation.


The casual address of adults has now spilled over into the professions. We have Dr. Phil not Dr. McGraw. We have Judge Judy not Judge Sheindlin. My doctor's name is Richard Kroop and I have always referred to him as Dr. Kroop - should I get with modern times and start calling him Dr. Dick?


It reminds me of when I was a kid and all the hosts of the children's shows on TV were called by their first names. We had Fireman Joe, Engineer Bill, Sheriff John, and Skipper Frank. But remember folks, these names were geared to children. The names sounded childish because they were appealing to young children. Now all those young children are now old grownups - the problem is they still want to refer to their idols as if they are still kids watching Engineer Bill.


Should we refer to President George instead of President Bush? And if Bush is President George how do we differentiate him from Washington? Next year we might have President John or President Barack or President Mitt or President Hillary. The funny thing is, they all sound ridiculous - except for President Hillary, which sounds okay somehow. Maybe it's because we're used to the press calling her by her first name all these years. It's always been Hillary this and Hillary that, never Mrs. Clinton.


Actually "President Hillary" kind of sounds like an old TV kiddie show. I can see her sitting on a throne wearing a crown and robe and holding a scepter. "Well good morning boys and girls and welcome to the President Hillary Show! I'll be reading the names of those of you celebrating birthdays today in just a minute, but now here is our first Popeye cartoon titled, "Wimmin is da Bunk."


Of all the US presidents, the only two that work with first names for me are President Jimmy and President Bill. Maybe it's because neither of them commands the same level of respect in my mind that other presidents do. In the case of Carter, he went out of his way to promote himself as "good ol' Jimmy" wearing the sweaters and combing his hair down on his forehead in that blow-dried fashion. Jimmy - just an old country boy. Even though his birth name is James, Carter wanted to be called Jimmy. President Jimmy. Sounds real serious and commanding, doesn't it?


Clinton also preferred to be called Bill as opposed to William, so it was always President Bill Clinton, never President William Clinton. It's Bill and Hill. Good old Bill. Personally, I don't refer to him as President Bill, I prefer to use his full title, "Impeached President William Jefferson Clinton."


What is it with these new age Democrats that they don't want to be referred to officially by their REAL names? Reagan was always called President Ronald Reagan, not President Ronnie Reagan. His friends may have called him Ronnie, but he used his full name otherwise. Ever hear of President Frankie Roosevelt? Or President Abbie Lincoln? How about Herbie Hoover? And what could instill confidence, strength and respect better than the name of Tommie Jefferson?


Someday we'll probably drop all titles altogether; no more Dr. or Judge or President before the name. Just Max and Ben and Becky and Hailey. Or maybe we'll dispense with names completely and just call everybody "you guys." Oh, I forgot - we do that already. Guys has become the all encompassing word for people of any age, any sex.


So until next time, play nicely, you guys!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles