Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 5, 2007 / 15 Teves 5767

Escape to the Past

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Are you sick and tired of ugly people yet? If you haven't noticed, most people are ugly. Not just plain looking or ordinary, but really ugly. I'm not referring to bone structure or facial features that we've born with like a big nose, or ears that stick out or things like that. I'm talking about people who purposely set out to be ugly. Inside and out ugly. Loud ugly and stink ugly. Vile ugly and obnoxious ugly. Ugly as fashion and ugly as statement.


Yes, most people are ugly and they're getting uglier. Ugly in dress, ugly in speech, and ugly in social graces. (Ha! Just using the phrase, "social graces," seems absolutely archaic in our current society.) But ugly is definitely the way things are moving and I really don't see any reversal in the offing. Young people want to be ugly, I guess, and other people …well, they make themselves ugly too, to fool themselves into thinking they are young. Of course, they don't succeed in making themselves look young at all; they only make themselves look like ugly middle aged people.


And ugly people produce ugly things. That's why clothing and shoes are ugly. Television is uglier than it used to be. Movies are ugly. Commercials and print ads are ugly. Art is ugly and music certainly is ugly. Newspaper comics are ugly and newspapers themselves now use type faces that make their pages difficult to read and ugly. Language is ugly, and even food presentation is ugly. Almost every aspect of our lives is touched by the ugly fairy. There seems to be no way of escaping it - or is there?


If you'd like an antidote for the vulgarity, crudeness and ugliness found in just about every aspect of today's pop culture, I've got one for you - old movies. It's a surefire way of leaving the 21st Century behind. If you've had enough of the tattooed bodies, the collagen injected lips, coarse language and edgy attitudes simply pop in a DVD or video tape of something like "The Awful Truth," or "North By Northwest," or "A Letter to Three Wives." It's positively therapeutic. The trick is to go back far enough, the sixties won't cut it.


Want to see a man with class? Just fire up just about any Cary Grant picture. How about a classy woman? (Or what they used to call a lady.) They don't get much classier than Greer Garson. William Powell and Myrna Loy in the "Thin Man" movies personify the classy married couple to a T. It's not just the way they looked, either. It has to do with deportment and attitude. It's how they held themselves, how they walked, spoke, and sat. How they reacted to each other and to others. No, it's a lot more than just the clothes they wore - although it certainly doesn't hurt to be dressed well, looking clean and well groomed.


So here is my top ten list (in no particular order) of movies to watch if you need to escape the ugly of today and get a glimpse of what it was like once upon a time in the civilized world. There are many, many other great pictures you could escape with, but these ten will do for starters. If you haven't seen these in awhile, you are in for a surprise - you probably forgot just how much society has changed in a half century or so. If you are a youngish person and have never seen these movies in your life, then hold on - you're in for a real treat. Don't forget to take notes.


1. The Philadelphia Story (and the musical remake High Society)
2. Dinner At Eight
3. My Man Godfrey
4. Love Finds Andy Hardy
5. Mrs. Miniver
6. Now, Voyager
7. All About Eve
8. Holiday
9. Since You Went Away
10. The Human Comedy
11. All six Thin Man movies
12. Love Affair (1939 version) and don't forget the remake, An Affair to Remember
13. Sunset Boulevard
14. Vertigo
15. Any and all Bing Crosby/Bob Hope/ Dorothy Lamour "road" pictures
16. Any and all Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers pictures
17. Dial M for Murder
18. Singing in the Rain
19. Double Indemnity
20. The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938 version)
21. My Favorite Wife
22. Harvey
23. Sullivan's Travels
24. To Catch a Thief
25. Our Vines Have Tender Grapes


Okay, so my top ten list ran a wee bit long, I admit. It's just that when you start to list them, it's hard to know where to stop. Any one of these wonderful pictures is a sure-fire guarantee of pure escapism. Classic movies have become my personal remedy to the modern day uglies. Try it for yourself. And after you've gone through this list, come back and I'll give you some more.


P.S. I realize that some cynics might say that the classic movies never accurately portrayed the world the way it really was. I don't dispute that, certainly movies have always been fantasy stories and still are. But the fantasy has changed and that is my point. I much prefer the fantasy of Jimmy Stewart or Cary Grant to the fantasy of Jim Carrey or Sean Penn. And I'll take Myrna Loy or Irene Dunne over Paris and Britney in a heartbeat. Watching well bred sophisticated people is far more appealing to me than watching low-class slobs.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles