Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 20, 2006 / 19 Kislev, 5767

Finally, a plan for Iraq

By Linda Chavez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When it comes to Iraq, there may be no good options. But at least one man believes that we still have a chance to make matters better in Iraq — and he is no starry-eyed intellectual fantasizing about the creation a democratic oasis in a region of the world awash in blood and tyranny. Retired Gen. Jack Keane, former vice chief of staff for the U.S. Army, put it bluntly recently: "The notion that we can't provide protection for people in one of the capital cities of this world (Baghdad) is just rubbish." But, Keane complains, the military in Iraq has not been given this as its mission, nor has it been provided with the necessary means to carry out such a mission.


Keane was interviewed this week on NPR's "Diane Rehm Show," where he called for more troops to secure Baghdad and fight the growing insurgency. It was shocking to hear him speak, not because anything he said seemed wrong. To the contrary, he spoke not only common sense, but from a depth of experience and knowledge that made me want to scream at the radio: "Why isn't this man in charge?"


All we've heard recently from active duty officers are promises that victory is just around the corner, or that the Iraqis themselves will soon take over fighting this war for us. No one seems to have any idea how to win the war on the ground, and the only question is: How quickly can we get out?


But Keane sounded a different note. Of course his plan would require putting more troops into Baghdad and the surrounding area, which would mean more U.S. casualties in the short run. But if we put in the right number and correct types of troops — combat and special forces units trained in counterinsurgency — we might stand a chance of defeating the enemy.


What was most refreshing about Keane's position was that it stemmed from doing what is in the United States' interest, not accommodating the feuding factions in Iraq or satisfying public opinion here or anywhere else in the world. The general was talking about our interests in facing a determined enemy bent on our destruction, which sees Iraq as only one battle in what will be a protracted war on many fronts. Any other view of the stakes in Iraq is naive.


While it is true that we elected to invade Iraq, we did not start the war, which began with the first al Qaeda attacks on U.S. targets: the first World Trade Center attack, the embassy bombings in Africa and the assault on the U.S.S. Cole. And it will not end if we retreat in ignominy.

Donate to JWR


As Keane reminded his NPR audience, the United States is quite capable of fighting insurgencies when we decide that is our mission. As he pointed out, we were successful in Vietnam at stopping the Vietcong's terrorism against the South Vietnamese. We failed in Vietnam because we lost political will and we refused to fight the North Vietnamese Army on its own turf, choosing to remain on defense to the very end, despite bombing raids on the North. Despite the apologists who act as if U.S. withdrawal from Saigon "liberated" the Vietnamese people, the millions who fled or died in Southeast Asia in the aftermath of the communist takeover in Vietnam and Cambodia were witness to the horror that followed our retreat.


The big difference between Vietnam and Iraq is that our enemy will hunt us down if we leave Iraq, whereas the communist victors in Southeast Asia were content to enslave just their own people.


The president will be considering his options over the holidays, an unenviable task. He could do a lot worse than to call in Keane for a frank one-on-one discussion. At least the president would get a strategy that would actually leave Iraq a better place than we found it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Linda Chavez is President of the Center for Equal Opportunity. Her latest book is "Betrayal: How Union Bosses Shake Down Their Members and Corrupt American Politics". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.)

Linda Chavez Archives


© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles