Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 26, 2009 / 9 Kislev 5770

Thanksgiving Flu

By Linda Chavez



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There's nothing to get you into the mood for a Thanksgiving gathering like a little H1N1 in the air. I've been hacking away for 10 days — no fever, but suffering all the other symptoms — and earlier this week, my husband succumbed. So what to do with three kids, two spouses, eight grandkids and my mother expecting heaping helpings of wild rice stuffing and a golden bird on the table? I've consulted doctors, friends, and family, and none of the options looks great.


We could postpone the dinner — though the fresh turkey will probably go bad — and gather sometime over the weekend. But with such a large family and so many children, the odds that everyone will be fit and hardy on any given Sunday this time of year are pretty slim. And the thought of everyone staying home and eating frozen turkey TV dinners is too sad to contemplate. It will end up being the one Thanksgiving everyone remembers and for all the wrong reasons.


The thing that irritates me most is that I had my flu shots, seasonal and swine, though perhaps not soon enough, thanks to government inefficiency and rationing. One set of grandkids have had theirs as well, and the others have all had H1N1, which turned out not to be nearly as bad as everyone expected. So if I go ahead with the meal, I'm not likely risking family calamity, just a few days of misery if my illness turns out to be something both new and still contagious. And my doctors can't reassure me on either count.


I could put out surgical masks alongside the napkins for everyone's use. But unless I can figure out a way to puree turkey and let everyone sip it through a straw, that doesn't seem very practical. But I can certainly wear a mask while cooking, and gloves as well.


I'll have to forego the tasting part of preparation, which means the gravy is guaranteed to be too salty or too bland but I won't notice since my taste buds still haven't come back even as I've recovered from the worst of my illness.


I might just use a mix, which would solve the saltiness factor, if there are any left on the grocery shelves. I learned years ago that if you live in a rural area, as I do, and don't buy everything you need for holiday cooking weeks in advance, you're out of luck. I'm sure there are cupboards all over Loudoun County bursting with gravy mixes, bread crumbs, fresh cranberries, and pumpkin filling, hoarded by those who worry there will be a run on ingredients Thanksgiving week.


The challenge will be to set the table early enough that any stray germs will have died out before everyone takes their seat without inviting dust to collect on the finery. Or we could just go with paper and plastic, which seems sort of tacky but might be safer. I'll have plenty of hand sanitizer available — we can pass it with the yams and mashed potatoes — and we'll isolate anyone who looks peaked to their own little island in the corner.


Maybe we'll invoke a rule of silence so that no one lets out any germs if they get too exuberant in conversation. And of course we can insist that all the adults consume a full glass of wine with every helping, as a purely hygienic precaution.


There won't be much kissing and hugging this year, but then, the Puritans probably didn't do much of that on the first Thanksgiving anyway.


Then again, we could just throw caution to the wind and celebrate the way we always do with too much food and lots of laughs and memory-sharing. A few sniffles and aches are a small price to pay for a good meal and the family gathered 'round the table to give thanks for all the blessings of the year.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Linda Chavez is President of the Center for Equal Opportunity. Her latest book is "Betrayal: How Union Bosses Shake Down Their Members and Corrupt American Politics". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.)

Linda Chavez Archives


© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles