Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 22, 2006 / 1 Kislev, 5767

Milton Friedman, teacher

By Linda Chavez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Milton Friedman, a Nobel Laureate in economics who died at age 94 last week, was one lucky man. That is how he saw himself, according to the memoir he published with his wife and collaborator, Rose, "Two Lucky People." But it wasn't really luck that made the diminutive Friedman (he stood 5 feet 2 inches tall) into a giant.


Friedman was the most influential economist of the last half of the 20th century. His ideas influenced presidents and prime ministers, transformed monetary policy in the United States and informed ordinary Americans' understanding of the free market.


I met Milton Friedman 16 years ago when I was asked to moderate a reprise of his popular TV series, "Free to Choose." We began shooting the new discussion series to accompany "Free to Choose" in 1990 under the direction of Bob Chitester, who had also produced the original series a decade earlier.


Since I had never met Dr. Friedman, I was invited to tea at the Friedmans' San Francisco apartment in advance of the first day's filming. I was staying a short distance away, so Rose Friedman suggested I walk rather than take a taxi, noting casually that there was a "little hill" to climb on the route from my hotel.


I arrived at the apartment huffing and puffing from the walk up the steepest hill I'd ever climbed outside the Rockies. Both Milton and Rose Friedman apparently hiked the hill on a daily basis when they were in the city, despite being nearly 80 years old at the time, while I could barely survive a single trip at half their age. They were vigorous in body and mind, as I was to discover in delightful discussions over the next week.


Unlike many famous and influential people I've met, Milton Friedman was more interested in learning about his guest than in talking about himself. He wanted to know how I had come to abandon liberalism, since he knew I had worked for a legendary union president, the American Federation of Teachers' Al Shanker, whom he had debated on the original "Free to Choose" series. I explained that foreign policy had driven me from the Democratic Party but that I had also come to favor more conservative economic policies.


"I have to write a check every quarter to pay my taxes because I'm self-employed," I said. "If more Americans had to do that instead of having the money automatically deducted from their paychecks, people would quit thinking of taxes as the government's money rather than their own. We'd have a huge tax revolt," I asserted.


Suddenly I heard Rose's voice from the kitchen. "See, I told you what mischief you were causing," she hollered, as Milton broke into a deep-throated laugh.


"The withholding tax was my fault," he explained. Apparently, as a young economist working for the Treasury Department, Friedman helped design the federal withholding tax. It was not a totally indefensible act though, he said. "Without it, we would not have had a steady flow of money into the Treasury to fight World War II."


Rose seemed affectionately unconvinced. The moment captured what I observed over the course of our conversations: an incredible relationship between two brilliant, strong-willed persons. Theirs was a true collaboration built on deep mutual respect and love.


Milton Friedman may be best remembered for his theory that money supply and interest rates are more important in contributing to a healthy economy than government fiscal policy. At the time he began writing about monetary policy, the theories of British economist John Maynard Keynes, who believed government spending could stimulate the economy, were widely accepted.


But it was Friedman's championing of the free market — along with his ability to translate complicated economic theories into plain English and communicate them to a broad audience — that made him such a formidable public figure. He was, above all, a great teacher. The world is a poorer place with his passing.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Linda Chavez is President of the Center for Equal Opportunity. Her latest book is "Betrayal: How Union Bosses Shake Down Their Members and Corrupt American Politics". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.)

Linda Chavez Archives


© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles