Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 17, 2007 / 5 Tishrei 5768

Do we have the will to win?

By Linda Chavez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The war in Iraq is unwinnable. It is becoming increasingly clear that the United States cannot obtain decisive victory in any conflict that lasts longer than a few weeks or months. Since World War II, we have lost or been stalemated in Korea and Vietnam, and Iraq appears to be headed in the same direction and for the same reason. Politicians don't have the will to support a protracted war because Americans have no stomach for it.


Wars require sacrifice, and we have become a nation unaccustomed to adversity. Our leaders have asked most of us to give up precious little to support the war effort. Except for those whose family members are serving in the military, an ever smaller fraction of the population, we go about our daily lives no differently than we would if we were at peace.


Gen. David Petraeus testified before a dubious and hostile Congress this week. Democrats all but accused the four-star general of lying to them when he reported that conditions in Iraq have improved since the U.S. committed more troops and changed its mission to hunt down insurgents and secure and hold neighborhoods. And even some Republicans seemed more interested in obtaining a promise that the president will begin to withdraw American troops quickly than they are in winning the war.


It would be easy to blame the politicians for their lack of will. But elected leaders generally reflect the views of the electorate. So why is it we've given up this fight? There's plenty of blame to go around.


The administration has badly bungled the war, first by committing fewer troops than were needed to provide security once we toppled Saddam, then by changing its rationale for the war. Democracy in Iraq is a worthy goal, but one that few Americans would have committed the nation to war in order to obtain even if the Iraqis were capable of non-sectarian self-government, which they have yet to demonstrate.


But the Democrats share responsibility as well. They have consistently put politics before the national interest. Their rhetoric has given aid and comfort to the enemy. They seem more interested in blaming President Bush than in securing victory. And they can't even make up their minds whether they want to end the war now or simply hamper the military's ability to fight it effectively.


In the end, however, if we lose this war, Americans themselves will be to blame. We're more focused on Britney Spears and Paris Hilton than we are on fighting terrorism. Six years after the horrific attacks on American soil, we've largely forgotten what we're up against. Except for minor inconveniences at airport check-ins, most Americans are not asked to share any burden to win this war.


During World War II, our parents and grandparents made enormous sacrifices to ensure victory. They went without basic necessities, not to mention luxuries, so that our troops would be properly fed and clothed. They invested their savings in war bonds. Americans of all classes enlisted even before they could be drafted. Women entered the workforce so that men could fight. Newspapers put the nation's security first, never using the First Amendment as an excuse to reveal information that could jeopardize the war effort. Our partisan differences, no less dramatic than they are today, ended at the water's edge.


Our losses in Korea and Vietnam did not ultimately jeopardize American security. But a loss in Iraq will have far greater consequences. Iran, which is on the verge of becoming a nuclear power, will be emboldened by our failure to win against a relatively small but ruthless enemy in Iraq. At the very least, we can expect a protracted and perilous new Cold War against a less rational enemy than we faced in the Soviet Union.


It is difficult to see how we might turn this around, surely not unless Americans wake up to the danger.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Linda Chavez is President of the Center for Equal Opportunity. Her latest book is "Betrayal: How Union Bosses Shake Down Their Members and Corrupt American Politics". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.)

Linda Chavez Archives


© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles