Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 6, 2006 / 13 Elul, 5766

Better reform

By Linda Chavez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Immigration reform appears dead for 2006. Leaders in both the House and Senate confirm they've been unable to reach a compromise between the respective versions of immigration legislation passed by the two bodies.


While this news will disappoint many people on both sides of the issue, it's probably for the best. The last thing we need is a political compromise that doesn't solve our immigration dilemma. And it is a dilemma, even if politicians and interest groups won't admit it.


A new Congress will have a fresh start to tackle the issue. Here are some guidelines they might want to follow:


First, we must secure our borders, but we need to do so in a sensible way that does not violate our values. The administration has already made some progress in this regard. With the addition of new border patrol agents, more sophisticated detection equipment and the assistance of National Guard troops in high traffic areas, the number of illegal aliens from Mexico has declined to a four-year low. Illegal immigration today is, in fact, less than it was during the late 1990s, having peaked in 2000.


Second, Americans are a law-abiding people. We expect everyone to obey the law, even if it is inconvenient, irrational or counterproductive — and current immigration law is all of those things. Most importantly, we want lawbreakers to be punished. The most intractable problem in solving our immigration dilemma is to decide what to do about the 12 million illegal aliens who are currently living in the United States.


It is not in anyone's interest to keep illegal aliens living in a shadow world outside the law, nor is it feasible or desirable to round up millions of people and deport them. But allowing them to gain legal status without somehow making amends for having broken the law in the first place strikes most Americans as unfair.


Congress must fashion a penalty that fits the infraction: some combination of fine, probationary legal status and, perhaps, a requirement that the illegal alien return to his or her country of origin, even if only for a very brief period, in order to re-enter the United States lawfully. Rep. Mike Pence, R-Ind., and Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison, R-Texas, have offered a novel proposal on this latter score, which would establish government-authorized but privately run Ellis Island centers to process visa applications in countries that are NAFTA or CAFTA signatories.


Third, whatever immigration reform is enacted, it must be flexible enough to conform to changing economic conditions. It is impossible to predict how many immigrant workers we are going to need two years from now, much less 20, nor is it possible to know precisely what skills will be most needed in the future. Immigration legislation should include triggers based on economic indicators that increase the number of work visas available when the economy is expanding or when certain skills are in short supply, and decrease the number when unemployment is high.


Finally, we must rededicate ourselves to assimilating immigrants who live here. The job of doing so will be easier if we give preference to immigrants who already speak English, regardless of their country of origin. Those who want to come to the United States will have an incentive to study English before they come, and their adjustment will be much easier once they arrive.


We also have to ensure that the children of immigrants learn English quickly when they enter public schools, which means adopting good English immersion programs for children who don't speak the language. And we need to improve our civics and American history curricula so that newcomers learn about their new country.


The last thing we need or want is a large group that is isolated by language and becomes a permanent subculture within our society. The fear that this is already happening drives much of the immigration hysteria that has dominated the debate over the last year. But prejudice and animosity toward the foreign-born won't make assimilation happen. Congress should bear that in mind and not fan the flames of ignorance and bigotry when it takes up immigration reform next year.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Linda Chavez is President of the Center for Equal Opportunity. Her latest book is "Betrayal: How Union Bosses Shake Down Their Members and Corrupt American Politics". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.)

Linda Chavez Archives


© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles