Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review February 19, 2010 / 5 Adar 5770

Sheer Hypocrisy in Terrorist Handling

By Linda Chavez



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The United States' capture of three top Taliban officials inside Pakistan in a joint operation with Pakistani intelligence agents couldn't come at a better time for American and NATO forces fighting in neighboring Afghanistan. But it also raises renewed questions about the administration's detention and interrogation policies.

Presumably, these captured Taliban leaders are being held in Pakistani facilities, which is a good thing since the U.S. now has no viable alternatives of its own. President Obama closed the CIA's overseas prisons in his first days in office and banned so-called enhanced interrogation techniques used to obtain intelligence from those captured. So now we're left to rely on the Pakistanis, which puts us in a rather precarious position. Thankfully, the Pakistanis have finally become partners in the fight against the Taliban, but it hasn't always been so. For years, Pakistan gave virtual safe haven to Taliban fighters, and its own intelligence service was believed to be filled with those sympathetic to the jihadists.

But who knows how long the current cooperation will continue. And even if Pakistani cooperation persists, there are troubling issues surrounding our reliance on third parties to do our dirty work. What exactly do those who supported President Obama's decision to close down CIA prisons and ban harsh interrogation methods think is going on inside the Pakistani sites where these captured Taliban leaders are being held? Somehow, I don't see Pakistani intelligence officers referring to the Army Field Manual or consulting the Geneva Conventions in deciding how they will interrogate these new prisoners.

Indeed, the whole Obama administration philosophy when it comes to dealing with terrorists can be summarized in one word: hypocrisy. The administration has stepped up its use of drones to kill suspected terrorists in places like Yemen, and has even admitted that it will target U.S. citizens suspected of being terrorists. News organizations reported that President Obama personally approved on Christmas Eve an attempted assassination of American-born radical cleric Anwar al-Awlaki, who had ties to both the Army major accused of killing 13 persons in the Fort Hood massacre and the Nigerian man who tried to bring down a U.S. airliner near Detroit on Christmas Day.

Letter from JWR publisher


Now, I am all for going after terrorists and killing them, if we can, before they hit us. But it is sheer hypocrisy to say that we have the right to kill a terror suspect, even a U.S. citizen, so long as we do it thousands of miles away; but if we happen to capture someone red-handed — or should I say red-underweared, in the case of would-be bomber Umar Farouk Abdulmutallab? — we have to read them their Miranda rights or at least make sure they're not handled too roughly.

Maybe we are lucky we haven't caught Osama bin Laden yet. What exactly would the Obama administration do with him if they did? Would the administration partner with another country — preferably one with fewer qualms about the methods it used to obtain information — so that the Obama administration's hands could remain clean? And where would we put him? The administration has taken Guantanamo away as an option. We could leave him overseas in another country's prison, but how secure would such an arrangement be? And if we transported him back to the States, would we have taxpayer-funded lawyers ready on the tarmac to ensure his rights?

The administration needs some consistency in its policies. The priority must be protecting American lives. If that means killing terrorists overseas who have already killed Americans or helped others to, so be it. But if it's not immoral to kill someone suspected of terrorist acts, why is it worse to subject him to harsh interrogation techniques, especially if doing so might actually save additional American lives? And is it more humane to let captured Taliban leaders rot in a Pakistani prison or bring them to Guantanamo, where they'll get three square meals a day, plenty of sunshine and their own copies of the Koran?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Linda Chavez is President of the Center for Equal Opportunity. Her latest book is "Betrayal: How Union Bosses Shake Down Their Members and Corrupt American Politics". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.)

Linda Chavez Archives


© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles