Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 3, 2006 / 9 Menachem-Av, 5766

Mad Mel?

By Mona Charen


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Someone suggested to me the morning after Mel Gibson's thunderclap that his career was over. Ha! Far from it. This is the start of a whole new gig.


If Gibson had used the N word, or defamed feminists, or praised George W. Bush, he might be in serious trouble. Those are the reigning taboos in Hollywood. But anti-Semitism barely ruffles a feather.


How can this be true when everyone knows that the Jews control Hollywood? Well, consider what the Los Angeles Times found when it questioned several Hollywood heavyweights about their views. There were one or two who claimed that Gibson's outburst would cause them to think twice before working with him again. Ari Emanuel, dubbed a "superagent" by The Washington Post, urged others in Hollywood to "shun" Mel Gibson. But he was the outlier. The others were more timid. In fact, such lame and limp condemnations have not been heard since the National Council of Churches commented on Hamas and Hezbollah. ("When will all Israeli leaders see that aggression only breeds more aggression . . . ?")


Talent manager Bernie Brillstein allowed as how "If he calls me tomorrow, would I represent him? The answer is no. That doesn't make me right. I just don't like bigots." That doesn't make me right? What moral courage! Nor did Brillstein suggest what his response would be if Gibson were to phone him the day after tomorrow.


Other members of the supposed Jewish cabal in Tinseltown were more self-assured. Producer Peter Guber scorned talk of boycotting Gibson. "Any types of call of that nature fly in the face of what free speech is. Anybody trying to prevent anybody from being gainfully employed is distasteful to me." Paramount producer Lynda Obst opined that "In one of the few areas where we have power, I don't think we should act in what anti-Semites consider to be stereotypical ways. This could be an opportunity where we say to anti-Semites that Jews don't boycott. I don't like blacklists; I don't like any form of blacklist."


So an anti-Semitic rant can actually rebound to Gibson's advantage as overeager Jewish producers scurry to demonstrate that they are not "stereotypical Jews." Nice trick.


This particular anti-Semitic complaint — that Jews control Hollywood — has always struck me as particularly ironic. The Jews who work in Hollywood certainly do not use their influence to further the interests of Jews or Israel. Quite the opposite.


Before about 1965, Hollywood (which even then was top-heavy with Jewish creative talent) treated religion (nearly always Christianity) with respect and affection. From "The Bells of Saint Mary's" to "Boys Town" to "Ben-Hur," religion was portrayed in heroic and saintly hues. What changed in the '60s was not that Jews took over Hollywood but that liberalism did. And as liberalism triumphed, religion began to be portrayed as bigoted, corrupt and stupid. Christianity has been maligned in the process, but so have Jews and Israel.


Consider one of the nominees for an Academy Award last year: "Paradise Now." I didn't see it but understand from reviews that it treats with sympathy the grooming of two Palestinian suicide bombers who blow themselves up killing innocent Israelis. I did see Steven Spielberg's "Munich." With Jews like this, who needs Mel Gibson? "Munich" is a taut, sophisticated thriller that portrays Israeli agents as cold-blooded, conscienceless killers altogether on the same moral plane as the terrorists they track. Along the way it defames Israel's founding, basically arguing that the state was created illegitimately.


One of Hollywood's darlings is Michael Moore, who spouts all of the anti-Semitic cant fashionable on the far left. He told an audience in Liverpool that the world's villains were all connected: "It's all part of the same ball of wax, right? The oil companies, Israel, Halliburton." Moore refused to permit his movies to be shown in Israel (no loss there) until Israel "returns Arab lands." This created zero scandal in Hollywood because Hollywood is first, last and overwhelmingly liberal. The fact that many Jews work in Hollywood is irrelevant. No, it's worse than that. Jewish influence in Hollywood is bad for the Jews.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Mona Charen's column by clicking here.

Mona Charen Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles