Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 4, 2007 / 16 Iyar, 5767

The Dems' diplomacy illusion

By Mona Charen


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Speaking on the Senate floor in favor of the supplemental funding bill for the war in Iraq (and salmon fishers, timber counties, woodland firefighting efforts and other projects), Sen. Barbara Boxer implored the president to sign the legislation. The bill would have required the start of American withdrawal from Iraq by July 1 if the Iraqis failed to make progress toward certain legislated "benchmarks," and by Oct. 1 even if they did make such progress. Her rationale was as follows: The war is lost. We've tried everything and failed. Therefore , it is time for diplomacy.


Sen. Boxer speaks for most Democrats on this. During the debate among Democratic presidential hopefuls, New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson promised that if elected he would "immediately withdraw all of our troops" and would use "intensive diplomacy" to stabilize the country. Sen. Barack Obama intoned the cliche of the year: "What we can't do is expect that we can continue to impose a military solution on what is essentially a political problem."


Rep. Dennis Kucinich demanded nothing less than that we "quit using war as an instrument of policy." (Sen. Joseph Biden disagreed, citing Afghanistan and the Balkans as places where war was justified.) Sen. Hillary Clinton dodged the question of what to do about Iraq, but praised House Speaker Nancy Pelosi for traveling to Syria to talk to President Bashar Assad, one of those who are supplying funds, weapons and support to the terrorists who are killing our people in Iraq. And she voted for the supplemental bill. (President Bush vetoed it.)


This starry-eyed attachment to diplomacy has been a feature of Democratic thinking for as long as I can remember. Democrats are always keen to talk. Let's talk to the Iranians. Let's chat with Assad. Let's dialogue with the Sandinistas.


There is nothing wrong with diplomacy rightly understood. Diplomacy is a delicate dance among nations attempting to influence one another. Democrats seem to think that diplomacy leads to greater "understanding" between nations and thus to peaceful solutions of disputes. There is no evidence for this — and for a very good reason. Conflict does not arise out of misunderstanding. It arises out of aggression on one side. World War I is almost universally believed to have been the prototypical war of misunderstanding, with both sides amassing vast arsenals for no good reason except that the other side was doing so. This mutual suspicion then led to a terrible conflagration ignited by one assassin's bullet.


This conventional wisdom about World War I continues to affect our thinking about war and diplomacy to this day. But as several recent historians, including Andrew Roberts ("A History of the English-Speaking Peoples Since 1900") and Patrick Glynn ("Closing Pandora's Box"), have pretty conclusively demonstrated, this is a fable. World War I was the result of the Kaiser's desire to dominate Europe.


This is not to say that diplomacy is stupid or useless. Hardly. It serves a critical function in avoiding conflict when one nation sends accurate signals to another about how aggression will be confronted. The most obvious negative case is probably the disastrous meeting between April Glaspie, U.S. ambassador to Iraq, and Saddam Hussein before the Gulf War. Glaspie told Saddam that the U.S. had no interest in his dispute with Kuwait, thus seeming to offer a green light to his aggression. It is probable that if Glaspie had issued a stern warning, the invasion would not have happened.


But diplomacy that is not backed by the threat of force is gaseous and futile. What shall we say to Mahmoud Ahmadinejad that can possibly improve our relations? Gee, we really wish you wouldn't stone adulteresses to death and threaten a second Holocaust on the Jews. Will he slap his forehead and exclaim, "Oh gosh, you thought we meant those things? Those were just jokes"?


Back to the Democrats and Iraq. One sure thing about diplomacy is that you cannot go backwards. Warnings, demarches and talks can prevent war from erupting, but after you've already resorted to the use of force, there is no going back to diplomacy. "Cooperate with me or I'll, I'll . . ." what?


The hard truth is that progress in Iraq (and there has been some since the surge began) is painstakingly slow. It will require patience and grit to prevail. But to suggest that diplomacy can solve this problem now is pure fantasy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Mona Charen's column by clicking here.

Mona Charen Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles