Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Chosen Words


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article



A newsletter for personal and spiritual growth gleaned from classic biblical and other sources that will help you enhance your day to day life. Likely the most constructive three minutes you will spend today


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Imagine you're lost in the forest on a bitter cold winter night. Miraculously, a blazing campfire appears to provide you with warmth and light. Surely, you wouldn't pour water on it.


The neshamah (soul) that gives us the warmth and light to find our way in this world is a miraculous gift, taken by the Creator from beneath his Divine throne and invested in each of us. But it's not made of fire; Rabbeinu Yonah teaches that it is made of truth, since G-d's seal is truth.


Because truth is the basic element of the soul, speaking falsehood — truth's antithesis — diminishes the soul as surely as dousing the flames diminishes the campfire.


In business, community affairs, family relations and friendships, truth is the essential element, and any profit that appears to come of falsehood is simply an illusion.


The Midrash relates that Falsehood came to Noah and asked for a place on the ark. Noah replied that only pairs were allowed on board. So, Falsehood searched until he found the one willing partner — Destruction. After thousands of years of working as Destruction's partner, Falsehood suggested suggested that they make an accounting of their profits.


"Profit?" asked Destruction. "I'm Destruction. Everything I touch is destroyed. There is no profit."


We are required to teach our children everything they need to survive, from swimming to earning a living.


Teaching them to be truthful — through our words and our example — is the most essential skill of all. Not only does it keep them from making a partner of Destruction; it nourishes, word by word, day by day, the warmth and light of their souls.

— Adapted from "Listen to Your Messages" by Rabbi Yissocher Frand, with permission from Mesorah Publications


Better Relationships

LETTING IT GO

The Torah (Bible) warns of the yetzer hara's (Evil Inclination) great success in clothing itself as the yetzer tov (Good Inclination). We see the results of this every time righteous indignation throws fuel on some tiny spark that would otherwise die quietly. But the Bible promotes peace as the single greatest good.


The small annoyances and infractions that irritate us in our daily lives simply don't outweigh the imperative to seek peace.


Someone offers an opinion that you find ill informed or just plain wrong. You offer your point of view. The other person persists. The normal impulse is to argue your point.


But to what end? What would be lost if you simply went on to another subject?


Someone behaves toward you in an irresponsible manner. You reprimand him. He doesn't seem particularly repentant. Now it seems necessary to uphold your principle and force the issue. But what would be lost if you let it slide? If it's important, you could wait for a time when the person is more receptive.


The need to have the last word, to have one's rightness confirmed in every situation, can make life a discordant misery.


When we let go of the issue, we often find that, within minutes or hours, it simply doesn't matter any more


Inner Excellence

THE BEST DAY EVER

You learn something new every day. That clicheŽ is actually the key to an attitude that can make every day a great day.


Because each day we are a little more experienced, a little wiser than we were the day before, we have the potential to reach higher goals.


A person does not need to wait for the big raise, the fabulous present, the exciting journey to turn today into something special.


Maimonides told the story of a distinguished person who was asked, "What has been the most joyous day of your life?"


"It was a day that I was on a ship," he replied. "There were people on the ship who mocked me, and even threw garbage at me. But I was able to transcend this and create my own inner joy."


This person experienced a distressing situation as his own private liberation day. He proved to himself that his inner landscape was under his own control, and couldn't be invaded by even the most unpleasant occurrences.


That made the day a great one. If you want to lend today the distinction of being the greatest day in your life, focus on what you are better able to do today. Maybe your learning comes a little easier; maybe you handle a difficult situation with more maturity; maybe you find that you've gotten into some positive new habit that was a struggle for you before. When you build today upon everything you've learned and done before, each day stands above the ones that preceded it. Each day can be the greatest day. So far.


To do:
Start today on something — a new attitude or action — that will boost you to a new level of growth.

— Adapted from " Happiness," from by Rabbi Zelig Pliskin, with permission from Shaar Press

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Chosen Words, a newsletter of spiritual and personal growth, is produced by the Chofetz Chaim Heritage Foundation. Comment by clicking here.

© 2005, Chofetz Chaim Heritage Foundation