Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review December 20, 2012/ 6 Teves, 5773

Cold, hard truth about the killer

By Christine M. Flowers

Christine M. Flowers


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) I spent the weekend watching my 4-year-old nephew. He went about the usual tasks that occupy little boys with his characteristic energy and bravado, crashing into walls, falling off of chairs and running circles around his tired old aunt. He was a sturdy and indestructible trouper. And yet, I considered him as precious-and fragile-as a Faberge egg. I thanked God that he lived in Pennsylvania, not Newtown, Conn. Of course as soon as I did that I felt guilty for such gratitude when others were just beginning to grieve. But I would trade eternities of guilt for one minute of what the Newtown parents are experiencing.

There is nothing that matches, in the ferocity of its pain, the death of a child. Lose a spouse or lover, sibling or mother and you cry. But in those instances, what you are really grieving is the loss of your own relationship. When a child dies, and particularly when the death is violent, the pain comes not only from the loss of your existing joy in their presence. What hurts even more than that-those things I recognized in my nephew like his laughter and boisterous but inquisitive ways-is the loss of potential. As a poet once wrote, the child is father to the man. In the clear gaze of a little boy you have some idea of infinity; we don't know what he will become, but we have such glorious hopes for him.

When Adam Lanza murdered 20 innocent babies last week, he destroyed families and futures. He did it with bullets, his mind was unhinged, and we will now all talk about gun control and mental health laws. These are discussions we should be having, should have been having all along, and those endless fights about the Second Amendment and the rights of the mentally diseased need to become more than just empty slogans.

Assault weapons should be banned; no private citizen needs to keep a military-style arsenal in his home regardless of how people will tell you that bans are ineffective. The mentally suspect should not be roaming the streets simply because we don't want to infringe on their ACLU-fabricated right to pose a public danger. The homeless man who attacked me last month should have been in either a hospital bed or a jail cell, not loitering on the streets. Gun-control advocates need to sit down with NRA lobbyists and figure out how to guarantee that another massacre like the one in Newtown won't happen again, without depriving law abiding citizens of the right to own a gun.

Mental health workers, law enforcement and civil rights activists need to pool their resources and come up with a solution to either help-or neutralize-the Adam Lanzas in our midst.

But this is not just a story of guns and insanity. It is not easily classified as a story about how the NRA has hijacked America or about how the mentally ill have been manipulated by the people who are supposedly fighting for their rights (while ignoring the rights of the general public.) It is not the story of an assault weapon ban foolishly allowed to expire, or of the ACLU opposing laws which would make it easier to commit the ill-but-violent.

This is about something sophisticated thinkers like to dismiss as superstition and idiocy, something we used to talk about with serious expressions and intentions and not smirk over at cocktail parties. This is about the existence of evil. Many are afraid to even mention the possibility, because it strips from us the ability to be "in control."

If we admit that there is such a dark thing in this "enlightened" world, we are basically surrendering the capacity to map out our own destinies. Evil is that unplanned intruder that inserts itself unexpectedly into our daily lives and wreaks havoc. We don't like to think that people can actually be filled with evil, because it means we can't then medicate, or legislate, or educate it out of them.

Adam Lanza may not have been evil per se, but some part of him was invaded by those dark forces that poets and biblical scholars invoke. His demons, such as they were, could not have simply been a function of an addled mind. The ability to stare a child in the face with cold determination and then execute her is evil, and we would do well to acknowledge its presence in our society. No drug, no law and no amount of tolerance can fully eliminate it from our midst unless and until we regain an understanding of the preciousness of life. As long as we consider life to be disposable from its earliest presence in the womb to its manifestation in those who are no longer considered 'useful' because of age or infirmity, we will continue to allow evil to flourish.

I cannot fathom the pain that this evil has caused to those poor Connecticut families. But I have found some comfort in these lines from a man who understood the evanescent beauty of childhood, Hans Christian Andersen:

"Then the child opened its eyes, and looked into the angel's beautiful face, which beamed with happiness, and at the same moment they were in heaven, where joy and bliss reigned. The child received wings like the other angel, and they flew about together, hand in hand."

Christine M. Flowers is a lawyer and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News. Comments by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:



12/10/12: When a warm heart meets a cold manipulator
11/22/12: Some women don't know how good they have it


© 2012, Philadelphia Daily News. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast