Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 7, 2011 / 11 Kislev, 5772

Yeah . . . and Fish Don't Know They're Wet, Either

By Bernard Goldberg



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Not long ago, Bill O'Reilly asked me if I thought it was possible for the so-called mainstream media to cover the presidential campaign fairly. Note, he didn't ask if I thought reporters would be fair; he asked if I thought it was possible that they could be fair. When Bill asks a question that way, you know how he feels about the subject.

Sure it's possible that the media could be fair - but only in the sense that absolutely anything theoretically is possible. Is it likely they'll be fair? Is it probable? No. But despite what a lot of conservatives think, that's usually not because of any conspiracy.

I say "usually" because some journalists really are corrupt. They really are out to get people with whom they disagree. A while back a Washington Post journalist set up something called "Journolist" - which was a collection of liberal journalists, academics and political operatives who got together via email and compared notes. They made it sound harmless but when the notes were uncovered, there was some pretty nasty stuff in there about conservatives. Worst of all, the emails showed how these sanctimonious liberals conspired to keep the Rev. Jeremiah Wright story under wraps because in their infinite wisdom they decided it was not a legitimate story and besides, it might hurt their guy, Barack Obama.

But by and large, journalists don't go into the office in the morning and call a secret meeting to figure out how they can bring down conservatives. They don't have to. The problem is groupthink. And that's what I told Bill on The Factor that night.

Too many journalists, I said, share Barack Obama's values and his liberal policies. So they won't see what he says or does on the campaign trail as left-wing, or even liberal. They'll see it as mainstream, as middle of the road, as moderate, and most important, as reasonable.

Everything to the right of center, of course, will be seen as conservative at best and dangerous, radical right wing at worst.

I know it sounds crazy, but liberal journalists (a lot of them anyway) don't see themselves as liberal. Trust me, I worked at CBS News for 28 years. I know what I'm talking about. If just about everybody in the newsroom thinks the way they do and shares the same political views as they do, then their views aren’t really liberal, are they? Of course not. They’re moderate … middle of the road … and yes, reasonable.

Right. And fish don't know they're wet. They don't have any other frame of reference either.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Bernard Goldberg, the television news reporter and author of several bestselling books, among them, Bias, a New York Times number one bestseller about how the media distort the news. He is widely seen as one of the most original writers and thinkers in broadcast journalism. Mr. Goldberg covered stories all over the world for CBS News and has won 10 Emmy awards for excellence in journalism. He now reports for the widely acclaimed HBO broadcast Real Sports.

He is a graduate of Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey and a member of the school's Hall of Distinguished Alumni and proprietor of BernardGoldberg.com.


Previously:


12/06/11: Did the Media Play Fair with Herman Cain?
12/05/11: Obama to Blue-Collar America: Adios!
11/29/11: We Can Stop the Crazy Train Before It Gets to Greece
11/22/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/15/11: The Dumbest Media Question I've Ever Heard
11/09/11: What If Herman Cain Did It?
11/08/11: What If Herman Cain Were a Lib?
11/02/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/01/11: We're Approaching the Tipping Point
10/25/11: A Response to the Angry Purists
10/18/11: They're Waiting for Reagan to Hit the Campaign Trail
10/12/11: Read This!!! --- But Only If You Have Nothing Better To Do
10/04/11: Can Obama Win Re-Election?
09/27/11: It's NOT the Economy Stupid, It's Theology
09/20/11: Bad News on the Doorstep
09/09/11: Hypocrisy!
09/06/11: Back to the Future
08/24/11: Hillary vs. Obama in 2012? It'll Never Happen --- I Don't Think
08/22/11: Warning: Conservatives May Be Harmful to Your Mental Health
08/17/11: Warren Buffett, Coddled Billionaire
08/11/11: Too Much Balance in the Media?
08/04/11: All Aboard the Crazy Train
08/01/11: Liberal Hate Speech
07/25/11: With All Due Respect, Go Fly a Kite
07/20/11: Who Is A ‘Natural Born Citizen’?
07/18/11: Guess Who's Not Paying Their Fair Share
07/12/11: Against More Taxes? You May Be a Terrorist!
07/11/11: Casey Anthony: The TV Show
07/06/11: Standards and Double Standards at MSNBC
06/29/11: Is Jon Stewart A Racist?
06/21/11: Let's Play the Race Card --- Just for Fun Of Course
06/20/11: Sarah Palin and Weiner's Weiner
06/03/11: Memo to GOP: Turn Mr. Obama into Mr. Yesterday
05/20/11: I Get Letters From People Who Should Be Locked Up
05/09/11: Is ‘Torture’ Ever Justified?
05/02/11: The Promiscuous Use of the R Word
04/19/11: The Man Behind the Million Dollar Smile
04/12/11: What's the Difference Between Libs in Politics and Libs in the Media?
04/08/11: An Idea Whose Time Has Come — and Gone
03/28/11: The Pundits Are Driving Me Crazy --- And You Thought Qadaffi Is Nuts
03/14/11: No Liberal Bias at NPR — Just Ask NPR
03/10/11: The media's frustration
03/01/11: Progressives Lost in Time . . .
02/23/11: The Lamestreams Strike Again --- This Time in Madison
02/03/11: You MUST Own a Gun --- Or Else!
01/20/11: It Was Horrible, I tell you … HORRIBLE!
01/11/11: Here We Go Again . . .
01/06/11: You Go, Oprah
12/28/10: A Year-Ender --- The MSM and Obama's Fall from Grace 12/14/10: Thank
Heaven for Rich People

12/02/10: The Phony Nobility of Wikileaks

© 2011, Bernard Goldberg

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles