Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 7, 2010/ 30 Kislev, 5771

Didn't know how good we had it

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It was a fine night that offered an interesting snapshot of America.

Over the Thanksgiving break, I joined with 50 others for an impromptu high school reunion.

We grew up in Bethel Park, a fairly typical American suburb in Pittsburgh, PA that exploded in population in the '60s and '70s.

Many of our parents had grown up in the city in the '20s, '30s and '40s. They were brimming with optimism by the time they moved to Bethel.

By 1946, America had won World War II. The baby boom was under way and would last some 18 years.

My parents, born in 1933 and 1937, were of the Silent Generation. In 1956, soon after my father returned from the Army -- he was drafted just after the Korean War ended -- he took a secure job with the telephone company and married my mother, his high school sweetheart. They had very little money, but, like many couples then, began a family right away.

By 1964, they'd saved enough to move to a brand-new four-bedroom home in the "Promised Land" -- Bethel Park.

They did so because they dreamed of a better life for their children -- better schools, a finer home, a safer neighborhood with huge backyards where their children could play.

Bethel Park delivered.

Through the mid-'70s, my classmates and I experienced what was essentially a 1950s upbringing.

Most moms stayed home and ran our neighborhoods like well-oiled machines.

Though it was a rigid time for adults -- women had limited opportunities outside the home and dads carried most of the financial burden -- it was a great time to be a kid.

There were no 24-hour cable news channels to scare parents into locking their kids in the house.

We played outside all day -- we jumped on our bikes and rode throughout South Park, several miles away.

We lived by two basic rules: We better not be late for supper and we better come home when the street lights come on.

Our childhood was marked by a total lack of chaos -- an abundance of orderliness and innocence.

I remember one night when our father made us turn off "Love, American Style," a TV comedy series about romance. Such "racy fare" was not permitted in our home.

We were protected from most of the adult world. We had little awareness of the war in Vietnam, riots and other turmoil rocking the country.

Our childhood world was one of security and hopefulness, a world in which we were free to dream.

Though the economy was bad during our high school years, it didn't trouble most of us. We had a raucous good time -- many of us had college and bright futures ahead of us.

Our timing was great. When we graduated from college in 1984, the economy was booming -- and would continue to grow, for the most part, until 2008.

Now here we are, nearly a half-century old. Our hair is thinning. We've put on a few more pounds than we'd like. Many of our surviving parents are ill.

The optimism infused in us from our start is being challenged as we worry about our future, our children's future, our country's future.

But a week ago Saturday night, we enjoyed a respite from our adult world.

Our formal 30-year reunion was canceled due to a lack of attendees, but four classmates organized our impromptu reunion instead.

What a grand time it was to chat and laugh with 50 other people who share the common experience of a distinct time and place now gone forever.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2010, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles