Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 27, 2010 / 20 Teves, 5771

I Was A Crime Fighter and Super Hero

By Alan Douglas




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Izzy was hurt. He had argued with his parents over the phone about changing his major. It cost a lot to keep him in school but he decided he didn't want to be a political science major. Sure, they had warned him about it, and changing majors would mean an additional semester to graduate, but did that justify not sending him a birthday card?

Morgan was mad. His father had started a new family after divorcing Morgan's mother, but he always sent a gift of some type to Morgan on special occasions. But for Morgan's upcoming graduation from college, only a cute congratulatory greeting card arrived. Morgan figured this was a clear sign that he was on his own. His old man was too busy spending his money on his trophy wife and new baby.

Izzy and Morgan were both wrong. The real cause of their problems was a sinister criminal conspiracy so dangerous, so cunning, that it could only be defeated by committing the full resources the United States government, the skill of federal law enforcement officers and . Me.

The phone rang on my desk one afternoon and it was the Director of Campus Housing. As a lowly Administrative Assistant working in a college dormitory, it was my responsibility to keep the office open, keep schedules, report problems to maintenance, sort the mail, sign for deliveries, answer student questions, and refer students to the proper sources. Broken toilets, disputes in the television room, and complaints about the universe, composed the majority of my workload. The Director of Housing told me that a Mr. Baldwin (all names in this report have been changed to protect the innocent) would be calling me later that day and I was to cooperate fully with him. I expressed my thanks and gave the usual assurance that I would be ready, willing, and able with the same enthusiasm that enlisted military personnel, McDonald's team members, and administrative assistants the world over, have given for centuries. Baldwin called a few minutes later and scheduled to meet me in the dorm office after hours. Agent Baldwin, in his official conservative suit, with an official looking briefcase, flashed his enormous and very shiny badge. He was a federal field investigator, a United State Postal Inspector, sworn to uphold the law and catch bad guys, and he even had a gun. He explained that I would be working with him on a case, but I should not tell anyone. And so I became an undercover operative for a federal sting operation.

Agent Baldwin told me that birthday cards, Christmas cards, and other greeting cards sent to students at our college dormitories were being steamed open and the money or gift cards were being stolen. The United States Postal Inspectors had done surveillance in the post offices to check on those sorting the mail and spied on the letter carriers delivering the mail to the university. They concluded that the post office employees were "clean" and the thefts were being made in the university mail room. Our job was to find and arrest the offenders. We did not want to tip them off or cause a panic, so from now on Agent Baldwin instructed me that we would meet away from the dorm. The plan was a simple one. Baldwin gave me a list of names. The feds would send fake greeting cards containing cash that were addressed to fake students at my dorm. I would intercept the fake cards that came through and return them to Agent Baldwin. By sending different cards at different times they could make sure all the shift of mail room workers would have an opportunity to steal. The cash in the fake greeting cards was coated with an invisible powder that showed up under ultra violet light. Each night the agents would check the mail room employee time cards and areas with ultra violet light to see who had "touched" the missing cash until they could catch them.

For the next three weeks, Baldwin would call me and we would meet on street corners or in his car so I could hand in the cards and money. One time when we were in the car, Baldwin yelled, "Get Down" and I dove for the floorboards. There were no bullets, no car chase, just Agent Baldwin crouched beside me whispering, "I think one of the guys from the mailroom is across the street." I started to giggle. As the years pass I am tempted to tell this story saying I laughed or chortled, but the truth is I giggled. Baldwin straightened up a minute later and asked for the envelopes. Following a few more weeks of secret meetings Baldwin called to tell me they had apprehended two university mail room employees. Their time cards carried the tell-tale powder and they had some of the marked bills on them. He wished me well and reminded me that the university and agency wanted the investigation to remain confidential. I hope that Izzy, Morgan, and the other students who never received their cards and gifts eventually found out the truth, but as a junior G Man, crime fighter, I was sworn to secrecy, and never said a word, until now.

And then another fake greeting card arrived, and another, and another until I had about five fake cards. I called Baldwin to report this new development. "Case is closed. I guess there must have been a few cards still in process. Don't worry about it" Baldwin explained, adding, "Just throw them away." After three more weeks I had fifteen more fake cards with money. "I told you the case is closed" Baldwin said with noticeable irritation. "Do whatever you want with it, the case is closed".

And that is how one Friday afternoon I became a super hero, when our dormitory hosted a free TGIF Pizza Party for all our students. The guy delivering the pizza was puzzled when I paid him in cash, wearing gloves. I can honestly say that I did not touch any of that money. At the party I wanted to put up one of those signs you see posted at highway construction sites that read: Your taxpayer dollars at work . But I was sworn to secrecy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Alan Douglas, an author, media executive, speaker, and attorney, lives con brio- except when he is grumpy.


Previously:

Comforting with Sympathizing
Nautical Worry Killers
Can You Keep A Secret?
Holiday Card Hazards
Gifts
Sharing, Transparency and Dumping
Red Alert
Readers Respond Regarding Rabbi
Readers: I Need Your Help with my Rabbi
Humphrey Bogart and P. T. Barnum on Fighting with Family and Friends
Columbus, Honors and Hound Dogs
The Free Lunch
When your child suffers
Conversational Transmitted Diseases
Conservative, Liberal or American
Paris, Antarctica and Shopping
Personal Protection
Dispute Resolution
Jumped or Pushed?
Friends and Acquaintances
Revenge and Vindication

© 2010 Alan Douglas

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles