Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 23, 2009/ 6 Teves 5770

A Very Harry Christmas

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Most Americans probably think a national health care bill is actually about national health care. Their national health care, paid for with their money—and their children's money, their grandchildren's money, their great grandchildren's money, and so on. They probably think two thousand pages of details are about what's in it for them.


Silly people. The reason this monstrosity is two thousand pages long is simple: it takes that many pages to codify the specific bribes paid to each Senator and House member in exchange for their support.


For example, the bill uses two pages outlining Medicaid subsidies for states declared "major disaster areas" in the last seven fiscal years. The only state to qualify? Louisiana. By sheer coincidence, Democratic Senator Mary Landrieu, whose support for the bill was reportedly tepid, gets a hundred million bucks to be "un-tepid." Another hundred million goes to Democrat Chris Dodd of Connecticut as the result of a provision included in 383 pages of changes to the Senate bill—which that chamber passed completely unread at one o'clock in the morning on Sunday.


Grifter Numero Uno, however, is Nebraska's Ben Nelson. Because the health care bill includes a huge expansion of Medicaid eligibility—the costs of which are shared by the states and the federal government—each state will eventually be forced to use an ever-increasing share of its individual budget to cover the costs. Make that 49 out of 50 states. Nebraska is now exempt and Ben "the Big Bribe" Nelson is on board.


For the sake of principle, no doubt.

Letter from JWR publisher


G0d only knows what's in the rest of the bill. I mean that literally. Given the time frame between the writing of this bill and the vote scheduled for three days from now, it is impossible to believe even a single member of the Senate could read the entire thing. But why should any one of them bother? As long as each of these miscreants knows his or her "piece of the action" is covered, the rest is so much irrelevant verbiage. I believe Democratic House Rep. John Conyers put it best earlier this year:


"I love these members, they get up and say, 'read the bill.' What good is reading the bill if it's a thousand pages and you don't have two days and two lawyers to find out what it means after you read the bill?


That was a thousand less pages ago, John. So I guess we're up to "four lawyers and four days," which dovetails quite nicely with Democrat Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid's intention to hold a vote on this steaming hunk of junk on Christmas Eve, when most people—rightfully so—will be paying attention to celebrating the holiday.


Here's the biggest lump of coal you'll (hopefully) ever get for Christmas, my fellow Americans. And there will never be a more apropos use of the phrase the "gift that keeps on giving" than the one with which Congress intends to saddle a debt-ridden America—for generations to come.


Is it me, or have we reached a new paradigm in government corruption? No doubt we've sent our share of duplicitous hacks to Washington, D.C. over the years, but I can't remember a time when our representatives were so brazen with regards to their whorishness. It's one thing to be corrupt in secret. But to be so openly unconcerned with what the overwhelming majority of the public thinks—or wants—is truly disturbing.


Here's hoping Americans remember. Here's hoping next Christmas—the one following the 2010 election—will be one of the happiest in years.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


12/21/09:
My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2009, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles