Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 21, 2009/ 4 Teves 5770

My Opinon

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | One of the things I find amusing is when people tell me I'm opinionated—and I thank them for saying so. Their reaction is almost always the same: a half-beat of confusion arising from the fact that they consider what they said to be critical, even as I thank them for being complimentary.


I know my having strong opinions frightens people. I knew it from the first college cocktail party I attended where an actual conversation broke out—a rarity itself—and I was the lone voice of dissent among a room full of liberals who couldn't imagine how anyone had the temerity to challenge their "superior" wisdom. I don't know which reaction was more revealing: the contemptuous look of those being challenged, or the fearful look of those on the sidelines who never speak up at all, lest they be accused of having the "wrong" ideas.


Liberalism is all about intimidation. Those who consider themselves champions of tolerance and freedom are nothing more than intellectual jackboots whose fealty to both begins and ends with an absolute conformity to their worldview. Anyone who disagrees with a liberal isn't a person with competing ideas. He is a member of an inferior species, one to be scorned and ridiculed.


Don't think the word "marriage" should apply to gays? You're homophobic. You believe affirmative action is a quota system? You're racist. Think people who come to America should do it legally? You're xenophobic. Think America should defend itself from its enemies? You're an imperialist. Believe in capitalism and personal responsibility? You're selfish and heartless.


Such intimidation has one purpose: to silence dissent. Such silence is essential because the one thing that terrifies the overwhelming majority of liberals is being forced to defend their ideology based on its merits.


That's why college campuses have "speech codes." It's why union organizers want to eliminate a secret ballot in favor of card-check legislation. It's why the major media completely ignored the Climategate story revealing fraudulent data used to "prove" global warming. It's why our Democratically-controlled Congress conducts middle-of-the-night, weekend votes to pass historically transformative—and unread—healthcare legislation.

Letter from JWR publisher


Liberals know that most Americans reject their orthodoxy when it's presented without obfuscation—which is precisely why liberals hide their true intentions. Who doesn't want a "clean environment" or "healthcare reform"—until ones discovers that both agendas are nothing more than corrupt enterprises designed attempt to subvert freedom and capitalism? Who doesn't want "hope and change"—until people realize it's nothing more than an attempt to completely undermine the American values, traditions and culture than have made us the envy of the entire world?


The late Daniel Moynihan once said that everyone was entitled to his own opinion, but not his own set of facts. Facts are liberalism's Achilles Heel. Read liberal media, listen to liberal radio, watch liberal talk shows. It doesn't matter where a debate begins. Almost invariably, it ends with a condescending remark, an angry outburst or name-calling, precisely because the facts—from the excesses of our free-for-all pop culture to the historical failure of socialist/communist societies and everything in between—reveals the bankruptcy of liberal "wisdom."


Unfortunately, most people would rather remain silent than deal with such behavior. Better a deferential smile than a verbal sparring match. Better to be mute than "judgmental."


If such intimidating tactics were limited to adults it might be tolerable. But when I see children singing, "mmm, mmm, mmm Barack Hussein Obama," it makes my skin crawl. When I hear story after story of grade school kids being forced to watch "An Inconvenient Truth" no matter how much it's been scientifically discredited, I get angry. When I know a thirteen-year-old girl can get a "surgical procedure"—every one of which has a mortality rate—without her parents even knowing about it, much less giving their permission, I'm appalled.


America didn't become the greatest nation on earth because its citizenry was intimidated into silent agreement. No free society can withstand a populace fearful of making concrete (dare I say black-and-white?) assessments about most things. That our children have been taught the "virtues" of non-judgmentalism, mindless diversity, and unqualified tolerance is a crime. That such criminality is presented as "enlightened thinking" demonstrates the depths to which liberals are willing to sink to prevent being challenged.


Ironically, liberals have always considered themselves champions of dissent—until they assume the reins of power. That's why Americans once again hear talk of re-instating the Fairness Doctrine or some other bill to "regulate" conservative talk radio and the Internet. It's why ordinary Americans who attended Tea Party rallies were called "mobs." It's why people like Sarah Palin, Rush Limbaugh or Glenn Beck must be demonized without decency and with little regard for the facts.


A respondent to my previous column expressed frustration with the fact that, while many Americans are opposed to the liberal hijacking of this country, there is no leader to rally around. I told her to stop worrying about finding a standard-bearer. Everyone willing to stand up for American values is a leader.


That's my opinion. And you can bet your life I'll always consider someone calling me opinionated to be the highest of compliments.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


12/18/09:
The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2009, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles