Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 30, 2009/ 13 Teves 5770

A Day Off

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | One of my rules for writing is to present criticism in such a way that it avoids becoming the kind of outright rants that separate thoughtful columnists from angry bloggers. I not a big fan of personal attacks either. When I whack someone, it has to do with what they do or say, not who they are. On the other hand, since everyone gets a "day off" once in a while, here are some personal observations admittedly less "measured:"


  • Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano is as dumb as a dipstick. The airline security system "worked," one day later it "failed" and the first comment was "taken out of context?" Sorry, Janet. The only failing here are the nerve synapses delivering common sense messages to your brain. That this woman still has her job--much less was hired in the first place--is astounding.

  • Barack Obama is a inveterate slacker. For three days, the entire world knew two things: a Muslim terrorist (politically incorrect, but highly accurate description intended) tried to blow up a jetliner, and Iranian dissidents were getting slaughtered by the same corrupt regime that sponsors worldwide terrorism. For three days, the Slacker-in-Chief said absolutely nothing about either subject. Comatose liberals consider this "thoughtful diplomacy." Baloney. A searing combination of laziness, (over a hundred "present votes as an Illinois legislator) an infatuation with Islamic apologism, (a world tour of mea culpas and Muslim "outreach") and radical ideology (we don't "meddle" with totalitarian thugs) means saying something that isn't completely pre-calibrated for political correctness is impossible. That it took three days to come up with statements is an indication of the mental gymnastics required to reconcile this odious trifecta.

  • We will not get serious about defeating Islamo-facism until thousands more Americans die. We already know 3,000 people slaughtered on 9/11 was an insufficient number to engender a permanent change in the political mindset of the American left. We've been told countless times by al Qaeda that they want to destroy America, and a number of plots have been thwarted. But we're engaged in an "overseas contingency operation?" Has there ever been a time in the annals of modern warfare when we knew where the enemy was, had the capacity to inflict a serious, if not mortal, blow to their chain of command--and allowed a bunch of Defense Dept. lawyers to hamstring our military to the point of impotency? No one likes "collateral damage," but given the choice between "collateral Americans" and everyone else, everyone else gets the nod--with extreme prejudice.

    Letter from JWR publisher


  • We have no genuine allies in the Middle East, except for Israel. Everyone else is playing both ends against the middle, and an old Arabic saying says it all: the enemy of my enemy is my friend. As long as we are the "stronger horse" we have "friends"--the same friends who would spit on America's grave if we end up on the short end of the war against Islamic terror (once again, politically incorrect, but highly accurate). And spare me the never-ending "peace process." Until the Palestinians get beyond the idea that "diplomacy" equals the annihilation of Israel, it's all a giant load of b.s.

  • If there were ever a group of my fellow Americans I'd love to kick in their collective butts, radical environmentalists top the list. If it were up to them--and it might be, if our comatose Congress can't recognize an end run around them when they see one--Americans will be permanently beholden to foreign oil, chasing wind and solar chimeras, and watching the rest of the world use nuclear power while we sit with our thumbs up our you-know-whats. And that's before these jackboots stick the cap-and-trade shiv into the American economy. There isn't a country in the entire world that has solved the "fossil fuel problem," and while it's an admirable effort to try, reality still bites. And here's the real chafer: in a sane country, the aforementioned war on terror would engender a Manhattan Project-style attempt to become as energy independent as possible. It's incomprehensible to me that radical environmentalism isn't seen for what it truly is: a serious threat to America's national security.

  • Nancy Pelosi's promise to end the "culture of corruption" in Congress and Barack Obama's promise to run the "most transparent administration in history" were unadulterated lies. An ominous thought: both of them might actually believe they're doing just that, despite mountains of evidence to the contrary. Such a profound disconnect from reality is making Americans furious. It ought to scare the hell of out them.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


12/28/09:
Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2009, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles