Donate to JWR

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 12, 2008 / 15 Kislev 5769

To ‘vaccinate’ your Mac — or not?

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There was a slight kerfuffle in Mac-land as December began when Apple Inc. released — and then withdrew — a technical note suggesting that Macintosh owners should get and use multiple versions of anti-virus software to protect their systems. The "KnowledgeBase" article was removed from Apple's online services within 24 hours of its gaining media attention.


The hubbub came because Macs have, traditionally, been viewed as relatively removed from the clutches of virus-spreaders. Since Windows-based PCs have had as much as 95 percent of the computing market, virus pushers have gone there, leaving Macs largely alone.


Moreover, an Apple spokesman told Macworld magazine (www.macworld.com), "The Mac is designed with built-in technologies that provide protection against malicious software and security threats right out of the box."


Macworld quoted the spokesman, Bill Evans, as adding, "since no system can be 100-percent immune from every threat, running anti-virus software may offer additional protection."


I've used Macs, actively and on a more-or-less daily basis, since 1991, and I can't recall a major virus-related problem with any of them. While that's a good thing, no good thing lasts forever, and a potential threat may yet loom out there.


What to do? The first thing, I'd suggest, is not to panic. There have been few attacks on Macs, and no major ones reported this year. The odd virus will surface, but it is often shot down quickly.


That said, you can (and perhaps should) get an anti-virus program for your Mac. I've just installed iAntiVirus, from the Australian firm PC Tools, an independent unit of Symantec Corp. There's a free version (www.iantivirus.com) which offers smart scanning of viruses, their removal, and constant updates; a paid version for $29.95 lets you run it on more computers (as many as three) and offers telephone support. Volume licenses are also available.


After installation, I did a "quick scan" of the 2.33 GHz iMac at my home office, and it came up clean 22 minutes later. I could run a more detailed scan, and might overnight. During the scan, I could keep the program in the background and work on other items, even though this computer has only 2 Gigabytes of RAM. This suggests that iAntivirus doesn't gum up the works too terribly much, which is a good thing.


Earlier this year I tried several anti-virus and anti-spam filters from Intego Software (www.intego.com). These programs are interesting, and sport a robust list of capabilities and features, but they also made life rather difficult for me, particularly on the e-mail filtering side. There, the Intego programs kept marking as "spam" items I wanted or needed to get in my Inbox. The anti-virus software seemed a bit hinky as well, and I eventually removed it and the other Intego programs from the MacBook Pro at work because I didn't want to be bothered.


That brings me to a couple of general conclusions about anti-virus software, which are typified by my Mac experiences. One is that anti-virus software should be free, or as low-cost as possible. That goes against my inner capitalist, but the fact is, the more easily computer users can block and defeat viruses, the sooner (one hopes) the overall problem would diminish. That means the vast majority of people should use anti-virus software, and thus it should be free.


Or, solid anti-virus protection — with more "oomph" than the current components of Windows Vista — should be part of all future computer operating systems. Before someone starts screaming about anti-trust and monopoly, please see the argument above. Building it into the operating system is certainly a way to make protection universally available.


For now, find a good, inexpensive program and put it on your computer. One maker to avoid, though, is Panda Software, whose near-incessant e-mailing to their customers obliterates, in my view, any good their products accomplish.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles