Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 24, 2007 / 15 Teves, 5768

Romney knows bupkis

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | WEST DES MOINES, Iowa — Endless repetition is the lifeblood of presidential campaigning.


A candidate's stump speech rarely changes, and when it does, that happens only after careful planning, many meetings and polling.


Years ago, I quoted Democratic campaign consultant David Axelrod as saying: "Here is the rule we follow with our clients — when the campaign staff and the reporters become physically ill over the repetition of the message, only then have you begun to penetrate the public consciousness."


Which is why it was striking a few days ago when Mitt Romney, a highly disciplined campaigner, made a major departure from his stump speech at a huge Christmas party here for more than 1,000 people.


I transcribed the departure, and here it is, word for word. To set the scene, Romney had just introduced his son Josh to the crowd, Josh had said a few words and now Romney was speaking:


"When I see Josh there, I think back to a story when he was a really young guy. He and Matt, his older brother, found a bird's nest and it had fallen to the ground, and there were little, tiny birds in it.


"They had no feathers, and their eyes were not open, and they brought it into the house — they were little guys — and we called the Audubon Society and said, 'Is there anything we can do to help these birds, somehow put the nest back in the tree?'


"And she said, 'No, no, if the birds have been taken off the tree and are on the ground and so forth, the mother will not come back to them.' So Ann [Romney's wife] said, 'Can we feed them? Can we keep them alive?'


"And they said, 'Well, no, if the eyes are not open, the prospects of keeping these birds alive are not very good.'"


"And we said, 'Well, what can we do?'


"And she said, 'If you buy a can of dog food, good-quality dog food, and cut the dog food into little strips like worms, you can feed them with a tweezers and maybe see how well you do.


"Well, these guys kept all five birds alive. And they got them a little bigger and a little bigger and it got to the point where they would hop out of the nest and sort of flop around on the floor and so forth and we called Audubon and said, 'We've got them all alive. What do we do now?'


"And they said, 'Well, take them outside and teach them to fly.'


"And so we said, 'How do we do that?'


"And they said, 'You take the bird and lift it up pretty high in the air and then just throw it up in the air and run out ahead.'


"And so Ann and I looked outside the window and Josh and Matt were out there throwing birds in the air and running down the yard flapping their arms! (Laughter) I don't think the flapping arms was necessary. (Laughter) And the birds followed them wherever they would go. And the birds, of course, learned to fly.


"We kept them outside; they flew all around the yard. And when they came home from school, the birds would fly from across the yard and land on their heads and shoulders. The postman would get a little nervous because it happened to him a couple of times. (Laughter) And these were not gorgeous birds; they are called grackles (laughter) and they were around the house and they would come in the house and finally they became wilder and wilder as time went on, they made their own way.


"But it was interesting to me to see that even a little bird will imprint off a human and will copy a human. They thought that Josh and Matt were the mothers, if you will. The mom and dad. Not sure which was which. (Laughter) But they followed those two. It was interesting to me and my wife to see how much they had become the mothers. "[When you] think little baby birds will look up to someone else, you can imagine what another human being will do. A parent has an extraordinary impact on their children. I learned that to a certain [extent] in this campaign. I have an 18-month-old grandson who doesn't say bupkis. You know, he says, 'mama,' 'dada' and 'poppa.' That's me, and I am very proud I am the third word, poppa.


"But I have been campaigning with him. I hold him in my left arm and then I shake hands with people and say, 'How do you do? How do you do? How are you? Hi,' and now he goes, when he sees people, he goes up and puts out his hand and he says, "Hi. Hi. Hi. (Laughter)"


"So he is just patterning after his grandpa. It is a very bad sickness. We are going to have to break him of it. (Laughter) It reminded me also, thinking of the Christmas spirit, how we pattern ourselves after one another."


And then Romney continued with his speech. And, yes, you can dismiss this as a silly, meaningless ramble or a calculated attempt for Romney to show his more human — and less calculated — side.


But I think it was a guy who wanted to tell a family story, found it going a little long, as a lot of family stories do, and then managed to bring it home and make a point and say something about Christmas at a Christmas party.


Besides, the speech was historic for something it revealed: Who knew Romney knew a word like "bupkis"?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2007, Creators Syndicate