Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 4, 2007 / 24 Kislev 5768

Moving beyond the bind of race

By Clarence Page


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I wasn't there, but I'm guessing that Sen. Barack Obama winced uncomfortably over at least one of comedian Chris Rock's jokes at a fundraiser for Obama in Harlem's historic Apollo Theater last week. Rock quipped that his mostly black audience would be "real embarrassed" if Obama won after they had supported New York Sen. Hillary Clinton.


"You'd say, 'I had that white lady! What was I thinking?' " he said, according to the Associated Press.


That line might well have passed without much notice, had it come amid the usual raunchy fare on late-night cable TV. But race is a particularly sensitive topic in the world of politics. Expect Obama, as we journalists like to say, to "distance himself" from the remarks.


After all, the biracial Obama has made inoffensiveness and outreach across racial, ethnic and ideological lines a signature theme of his presidential campaign, even when his effort has brought a stronger outpouring of support from whites than he has received from blacks.


For example, his Harlem fundraiser came during a week of dueling endorsements with frontrunner Clinton. Clinton won the support of a group of black ministers in South Carolina. Oprah Winfrey announced she would campaign for Obama. One national poll had him trailing Clinton among black voters nationwide. A poll in pivotal South Carolina, where blacks make up about half of the Democratic primary voters, Obama was closing his gap into a neck-and-neck statistical tie.


Over Thanksgiving dinner and elsewhere, I have heard a lot of reasons from my own little focus group of black voters as to why the race for black votes gave an early edge to Clinton over Obama. A lot of black folks have serious doubts that America will elect a black president. Black voters naturally have turned to a candidate whom they already like, Clinton, even if some of them like her husband better than they like her.


Challenges to his "blackness" are not a new problem for Obama. Chicago Tribune reporter David Mendell recounts in his biography, "Obama: From Promise to Power," how Obama first ran head-on into the issue of whether he was "black enough" in 2000. That was when he unsuccessfully challenged Rep. Bobby Rush, the popular Chicago Democrat and former Black Panther leader. If your "blackness" is a campaign issue, it's hard to beat a former Black Panther leader.


Nevertheless, Obama refused to allow his crossover dreams to be dimmed by the racial hang-ups of others, he told Mendell. "What I've found," he said, "is they are usually going through identity issues themselves and they project those issues onto me."


That line came to mind as I read Hoover Institute scholar Shelby Steele's new book-length essay, "A Bound Man: Why We Are Excited About Obama and Why He Can't Win."


Whether the Illinois Democrat realizes it or not, he is trapped in the "double bind" of race in America, Steele writes. He argues that Obama is "a bound man who cannot serve the aspirations of one race without betraying those of the other."


I think Steele is being too hard on Obama and the process of politics within which the senator is trying to operate. Steele tries to fit Obama into the models that the author described in his breakthrough 1991 book of essays, "The Content of Our Character." You either have to be a "challenger" like the Revs. Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton, in Steele's view, or a "bargainer" who makes a deal with the white world to refrain from making whites feel guilty in exchange for their cooperation.


I think Obama is trying to play a different role, that of a cultural bridge-builder. He's trying to challenge the soul-crushing system that Steele decries. Most Americans do seem to want more national unity in our politics after years of polarization. But Obama can't pull that off overnight. At least he has begun the process.


And, it is worth noting, there are still some folks out there who think Obama is "too black" for their tastes. As a white South Carolina man told CBS News correspondent Dean Reynolds in last week, "I don't want to sound prejudiced or anything, but for one, I am not going to vote for a colored man to be our president." Well, friend, I hate to break it to you, but you do sound prejudiced.


Somehow I doubt that Obama would have gotten his vote anyway.


Nevertheless, Obama has good reason to wince when his supporters sound a note of racial bias, even in jest. He has even more reason to wince when those who oppose him express their racism in complete seriousness.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on Clarence Page's column by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles