Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 11, 2006 / 20 Kislev, 5767

Hey, guys, grow a spine

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Ah, yes, the gift-giving season. So what do you get for the contemporary fellow who has everything? The Man Bag.


The Man Bag is a high-style satchel — a purse, though its creators hate when you call it that. It has pockets for the modern man's wallet, keys, sunglasses, iPod, cell phone, body spray, hair goop, diary and whatever other junk he totes around these days.


Why was the Man Bag created? As it goes, three fellows — Brian, Peter and Thai — "were tired of being ribbed for carrying their gadgets around in handbags. The torment reached a boiling point one night when Thai was called a 'pursey' at a party."


That rude fellow was lucky Thai didn't yet have a sturdy Man Bag to swing at him.


In any event, the three soon created the Man Bag (they call theirs the MAN-n-BAG). The concept took off. ABC's "Nightline" refers to it as the latest trend in men's fashion. A GQ magazine style editor the entrepreneurs spoke with explained why:


"Once you're out in the work world, do you really want to carry a backpack when you're wearing a suit? At the same time, most guys don't want to be like their dads and carry a briefcase."


Which is precisely the problem. Modern guys don't want to be like their dads — fellows like Steve McQueen and John Wayne, who defined themselves by their actions, not their style.


My father, the Big Guy, is such a fellow. He has long known that a man carries his keys in his right front pocket. A man carries his change in both pockets, so he can jangle it with both hands while shooting the bull with the butcher, the mechanic and anybody else he encounters in his travels.


The Big Guy's wallet is what a real man's wallet should be — thick, fat and worn. He keeps it in his right rear pocket. It holds only the basic items: license, money and a yellowed photo of my mother from 1953.


Nobody taught the Big Guy to carry his keys, change and wallet this way. Nobody taught me, either. It was hard-wired into male DNA. It is what men have always done because it is what we're supposed to do.


But the genetic code is being rewritten in sensitive new-age men, such as the fellow who wrote a testimonial to manbag.com: "My chiropractor suggested your Man-n-Bag because sitting on my overstuffed wallet was misaligning my spine."


The only thing more misaligned than his spine is his understanding of how to be a man.


I'm not certain how the American male has evolved to such a sissified state, but I have a hunch. It dates back 40 years or more. That's when the feminist movement kicked into high gear.


To be sure, feminism brought us many good things. Women deserved equal opportunity and they're doing well. But some feminists weren't content to win equality. They wanted to destroy the enemy, and the enemy was the American male.

Donate to JWR


First they convinced us that we were wrong, that our tendencies and habits were products of how we were socialized as boys. They changed the socialization process. Then they changed the education process. Their goal was to make us more sensitive and emotional — more like women.


Boy, have they succeeded. Men now spend hours fretting over their looks and style — they spend thousands getting their hair primped, their skin moisturized, their eyebrows waxed. They cry at baby showers and clap when junior goes to potty.


They carry purses.


Men, we need to get hold of our senses. Look, women are different from us. It's best that way. It's best that we distinguish ourselves from them in our actions, manner and dress. They carry purses. We don't.


So what should you get for the contemporary fellow who has everything? A thick, fat, worn wallet that he'll knowingly slip into his right rear pocket.


Sure, it may misalign his spine, but at least he'll finally have one.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles