Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 29, 2006 / 8 Teves, 5767

Erasing the old to make way for the new

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Two weeks ago I happened upon a nifty little sponge that removes just about anything from just about anywhere. I watched as a cleaning lady at a department store instantly wiped away scuff marks on a wall with a product called Magic Eraser.


As we stand poised to enter a new year, it strikes me as a shame that this little sponge can't magically erase things besides scuffmarks. Such a sponge could command a long line eager to put it into use.


At the front of the line would be President Bush who could use a truckload of magic sponges to wipe away every terrorist, maniac and suicide bomber that dots the globe, disrupting any possibility of "Peace of Earth, Good Will toward Men.".


Former Representative Mark Foley could use a couple to clean up those dirty instant messages he sent to Congressional pages.


Mel Gibson could erase the anti-Semitic tirade he unleashed earlier this year and Kramer (actor and comedian Michael Richards) could obliterate his potty mouth meltdown. With one swoosh John Kerry could make his barb about the military instantly disappear. (The Heinz family should forget about ketchup and invest in these sponges.)


Wipe! Swoosh! Be gone! If only our words could be made to disappear so quickly.


Katie Couric, who became anchor of CBS Evening News, could use a few magic sponges to erase the show's sinking ratings. Then again, anyone making $15 million a year can probably buy her own Magic Erasers.


A teen from Lapel, Ind., who recently filled her pockets with so much stolen loot that her pants fell down when she tried to run, could use a magic sponge to erase that entire day. Or at least the picture of her backside now stored in the police officers' memories.


The sponge would no doubt be welcomed by a 21-year-old Sheboygan, Wis., gal of similar intelligence who tried to pass a counterfeit $20 bill at a gas station -- the back of the bill was blank. Maybe a Magic Eraser had already hit it.


The magic sponge could wipe out the embarrassment of a woman in Waterville, Maine, who told police someone had sabotaged her washing machine. An investigation found the machine had been shaking due to an imbalanced laundry load.


Speaking of unbalanced, why not offer several sponges to the publishing hacks prodding O.J. Simpson to do a book. Pluto fans might like to wipe away the decision that stripped their beloved Pluto of planethood. POW! Pluto finds itself once again next to Uranus in the official line-up.


Personally, I could use a magic sponge to erase a few blobs of guilt that stick to me like pine sap. I also wouldn't mind wiping away a stubborn streak of impatience that threatens to follow me into yet another year. What's more, I could use a sponge to tackle some unkind thoughts, harsh words and snap judgments I made during past year. SWOOSH!


Before my sponge is completely exhausted, I'd like to rub out every shoulda, woulda, coulda that haunts me like the Ghost of New Year's Past. I know there are things I shoulda, coulda, woulda done but the fact is I didn't. Hit 'em little sponge. BAM!


A magic sponge that can cause the old things to pass away so that new things might come is a great way to begin another year. Here's to finding such a sponge until then, may your scuffmarks be few.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2006, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles