Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 4, 2006 / 13 Kislev, 5767

Alas, babble on: English becoming de rigueur

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As I write this, I am on a plane to France. On my lap are two books:


"French Beyond the Basics" and "The Everything French Verb Book." I purchased them last week at a U.S. bookstore, along with four French study CDs, none of which I have been able to listen to but all of which are in my bag, as if they might fly out and start playing themselves.


I am doing what I always seem to do when I go a foreign country: trying to learn the language overnight.


On the one hand, I feel like an idiot (or, as the French say, an "idiot"). You can't master anything on an airplane — even if you did study it for three years in high school and one year in college.


On the other hand, at least I am trying. I wonder if in 50 years, anyone even will bother.


Once upon a time — you know, like, our childhoods? — learning another language was deemed critical. You were forced into a class as soon as you started high school, sometimes even junior high school. They gave you a textbook with an illustration on the front — the Eiffel Tower, a bullfighter — and you began, for the first time in your life, to learn new, funny-sounding translations for the simplest words you knew.


Je m'appelle — My name is.


La table — The table.


Chapeau — Hat.


They showed you filmstrips and played tapes. You had a teacher who would call you "monsieur" or "mademoiselle." The thinking was that this was important. It wasn't that everyone in class had a plane ticket. It was just a sense that someday, somewhere, you might encounter foreigners, you might visit one of those faraway places you dreamed of, and you would need to communicate.


We were learning a survival skill.


Or it least it felt that way.


It doesn't anymore. TV, movies and particularly the Internet have elevated English to a loftier status, while rendering other languages almost quaint: nice if you want to bother, but, then again, why bother?


Everyone speaks English now. Foreign businessmen coming to America have all mastered "business English." With trade barriers lowering in Europe, one language became imperative, and you know which language that was.


Young foreigners who like American culture have seen enough MTV videos to get by in our country — even if the words they know aren't our most admirable contributions to the mother tongue.


And as tech services and telemarketing spread overseas, even people in more remote parts of the world are discovering they can get paid by American companies — at superior wages to what their national employers pay — if they just learn the English language.


In short, there is motivation.


But where's the motivation the other way?


It is dwindling. And that's a shame. There is something beautiful about every language in the world. There are phrases that only make sense in that language, sounds that roll off the tongue in a particular way, similes, metaphors, colloquialisms, odd expressions.


There is also something humbling about having to meet people on their terms, instead of expecting them always to meet us on ours. Food may be food, but ordering in a foreign restaurant and having to say, "Do you have mustard?" and only being able to say, "Do you have mustard?" and seeing the waiter say, "Eh?" and having to repeat, only much louder, "DO YOU HAVE MUSTARD?" — well, you can see where the ugly American image begins.


I suspect that in 50 years, people will be wearing devices that instantly translate their English into whatever language their geography requires. I also suspect that the people listening to them will say, "Don't bother. I can speak English."


Meanwhile, I am still trying to conjugate the verbs "aller" and "jouer" before I land, and trying to pronounce the phrase "Quelle joie d'etre de nouveau a Paris." In English, that would be "It's great to be back in Paris" but the actual words translate to "What a joy to be new in Paris."


What a joy to be new. I like that. I can't pronounce it to save my life.


But it's worth a try, and it always should be worth a try.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2006, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles