Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 19, 2005 / 18 Kislev, 5766

All Iraqis need to know

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Now that Iraq's fledgling democracy is moving forward, all Iraqis need to do is heed the advice of Robert Fulghum.


Fulghum is author of the essay "Everything I Ever Needed to Know I Learned in Kindergarten." His thoughts apply to democracies as well as they do people.


"These are the things I learned. Share everything. Play fair. Don't hit people."


For years in Iraq, Saddam's loyalists got palaces and the dough, and the poor got scraps. Anyone who tried to play fair got hit or worse. For democracy to succeed, it's essential Iraqis learn to share, play fair and stop hitting each other.


"Put things back where you found them. Clean up your own mess."


The right to acquire and take care of your property is the lifeblood of a thriving democracy. It's a tall order to expect people long suppressed by a brutal dictator to quickly learn to function within a free society, but that's what you're going to have to do.


"Don't take things that aren't yours. Say you're sorry when you hurt somebody."


You have a constitution now and the rule of law. Nobody may take your property anymore, and you'll have legal recourse, backed by your constitution, when disputes arise. When someone wrongs you, he may not say he's sorry, but in a well-functioning democracy, you'll have the support of your government to make him sorry.


"Be aware of wonder. Remember the little seed in the plastic cup? The roots go down and the plant goes up and nobody really knows how or why, but we are all like that."


I hope and pray that the seed of democracy in Iraq grows and blossoms, too. I hope President Bush, and his idealistic belief that all human hearts long for freedom and that democracy can work anywhere, is correct. I hope that Iraq's democracy grows big and strong, even though nobody understands how or why.


"Think of what a better world it would be if we all — the whole world — had cookies and milk about three o'clock every afternoon and then lay down with our blankets for a nap."


Ah, if only Saddam had relaxed this way. Maybe it would have given him perspective. Maybe he might have overcome his desire to destroy his enemies and rule over the entire Middle East. If Iraqis have cookies and milk and a nap every afternoon, their energy might be restored enough to realize what an opportunity they have before them.


"Live a balanced life. Learn some and think some and draw and paint and sing and dance and play and work every day some."


Iraq is the cradle of civilization, and I hope that with a successful democracy, a powerful renaissance sweeps over your country and the entire Middle East. I hope stability will take hold and that a free economy will unleash new investment and prosperity. I hope Iraqis will know the optimism that Americans take for granted and that your growing economy will allow you to draw and paint and sing and dance every day of the week.


"It is still true that no matter how old you are, when you go out into the world, it is best to hold hands and stick together."


Unity is definitely the key to success in life — unity in family, in community and in love of country. We've not been successful in maintaining our unity in America as we face a unique and ferocious foe, but you have no choice. You don't have to like each other, but if you want your democracy to survive, you better hold hands and stick together.


Now if we can only get America and the rest of the world to remember these simple concepts, we might be on to something.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2005, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles