Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 12, 2005 / 11 Kislev, 5766

Spaced out

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We're early yet in the war on terror and already some are worrying about the next great threat to civilization: intergalactic war with space aliens.


According to the Edmonton Sun, former Canadian Defense Minister Paul Hellyer warned in a September speech that "UFOs are as real as the airplanes that fly over your head." He suggested that aliens may already be visiting Earth.

ALIEN ENCOUNTER
He thinks the American government should be open about what really happened in Roswell, N.M., in 1947, when a flying saucer allegedly went down and alien bodies were recovered. (Some believe one alien survived and now serves as chairman of the Democratic National Committee.)


What's worse is he fears that the American government is gearing up for intergalactic war.


"The Bush administration has decided to allow the military to build a forward base on the moon," he says, "which will put them in a better position to keep track of the goings and comings of the visitors from space, and to shoot at them, if they so decide."

OH, WHERE TO START?
Bush is often accused of lacking the ability to see nuances — that he sees things only in black and white — but his critics are more frequently the ones who fall into that camp. They're doing it again with ETs.


Isn't Hellyer suggesting, after all, that ETs will likely be ethical, friendly and advanced, whereas America under Bush is slow-witted and Neanderthal? And that if an intergalactic war does go down, it will likely be sparked by a trigger-happy Bush?


I'll bet if there are ETs, they aren't much different from us. Some may be smarter and more technologically advanced, and others may be dumber and less advanced, but I'll bet they're otherwise similar.

NATURAL ORDER
I say this because there appears to be order in the universe. You don't have to believe in G-d, as I do, to agree. It should be clear to any sensible fellow that there is good and evil and that it is battling away here every day.


Show me any culture that celebrates cowardice over courage. Show me one that dislikes kindness and encourages rudeness. Show me one that despises a man who would rather die than part with his principles.


We're all listening to the same tune, you see, one deep within our souls. Though some listen better than others. This is because it's not easy for humans to comprehend what is good and what is evil. In the West, we believe it is evil to lop off the head of an innocent man while praising G-d, but some folks in the East believe this is good.


I'll bet the same struggle goes on elsewhere in the universe. I'll bet there are greedy ETs and generous ones. I'll bet some are liberal and some are conservative, and some of each take bribes.


I'll bet some misuse their religions to amass money and meet women. I'll bet absolute power has corrupted others absolutely. I'll bet ETs are no better than we are at our best (think Mother Teresa) and no worse than we are at our worst (think Massachusetts).

FRIENDLY ETs
I tire of the knee-jerk impulse so many folks around the world have that America is automatically in the wrong, as though there is some black-and-white course we should have taken to make everything in the world hunky-dory.


Now some are applying this same impulse to lovable little alien creatures, who only want to drop in for a cold beer and a sandwich — creatures the Bush people will attempt to blow out of the cosmos.


There are lots of reasons to criticize Bush's policies and approach, and genuine criticism is both warranted and needed. But so much of the criticism has been shallow and knee-jerk — spaced out, if you will — and it doesn't do anybody any good.


Besides, I doubt Bush would need to use weapons to thwart an ET invasion. All he'd have to do is give the ET leader a vacation home in the Middle East or set up a lunch date with Ted Kennedy.


I'm confident they'd leave us alone after that.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2005, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles