Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 2, 2005 / 1 Kislev, 5766

More gift ideas

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If there's one gadget likely to find a place atop my holiday gift list that's also the least-expected to be there, it's the $99 Logitech Harmony 520, which the Fremont, Calif., firm claims is "the first activity-based remote" that has "a simple online setup process for complete customization."


In simpler language, you can - and I did - set up the remote to work with your TV, digital cable box and DVD player/VCR combo using a PC and the Logitech Harmony Web site. Once configured, one press of a button will turn on the TV and digital cable or the TV and DVD player. And, just about everything worked perfectly.


This is important to a couch potato such as I, and for several reasons. One is, to my shame, that I have somehow irretrievably misplaced the DVD/VCR remote. That meant a raft of aerobics anytime I wanted to watch a Netflix (stet) video rental. Now, I can sit back and relax, leaving the exercise to the gym, where it belongs.


Another is that this remote, again costing just $99, simplifies operating your gear. Press "Watch TV" and both the TV and cable box turn on; press the power button and they both turn off. Menu commands for each device and for the cable service in general all come through on the Harmony 520. One small command on the DVD player didn't work right, but was corrected quickly.


I like the online configuration, although, truth to tell, this only worked on a Windows-based PC and not, as advertised, on a Mac running OS X (stet). Once installed, the Harmony software updated the remote with new programming from the Web, and then led me through each step of setting up my devices. I could have had any number of items, I suppose, running off of the Harmony 520, but for now our three units were enough.


One caution: take the time and get the precise model numbers for each item you want to add. This really is essential to making the online setup process work.


Other users and reviewers, such as my colleague David Coursey of the "Gearlog" podcast (http://www.gearlog.com), say they've had less success with the Harmony's big brother, the $249 Harmony 880, claiming their audio/video gear was too old. That may be the case, but I had no difficulty, as in none, with a 10-year-old RCA-branded TV, a three-year-old (at least) Motorola cable box and a two-year-old Toshiba DVD/VCR unit. My advice? Start with the Harmony 520, and see if it works for you. Details can be found at http://www.logitech.com, and it will be well worth it, in my opinion.


SPEAKING OF NETFLIX, which may be one of the best online commerce ideas ever, the Web-based DVD rental service is offering gift subscriptions via http://www.netflix.com. If you haven't heard of Netflix, here's how it works: sign up, specify DVDs you want, and they come in the mail, with a postage-paid return envelope. For my money, it's easier and better than going to a video rental store, and there are no late fees. One popular monthly subscription offers three DVDs at a time for under $18; a three-month gift will cost you less than $54. The subscriptions are non-refundable, however, so make sure your intended HAS a DVD player to begin with, unless that's another present you're planning to deliver.


WEB PROJECTS, ANYONE? Michael McDonald's new book, "Creating Web Sites, The Missing Manual," from O'Reilly Media of Sebastopol, Calif., is an entertaining romp through the basics (and beyond) of Web site creation, all for $29.95. It is not specific to any software, but includes such common-sense ideas as: "In fact, if you make the mistake of editing an HTML page in [Microsoft] Word, you're likely to end up with problems (like invalid characters), so don't do it." Such common-sense advice will be a welcome gift for any Internet impresario, I believe.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles