Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 12, 2013/ 9 Kislev, 5774

Fate and a Flight

By Lenore Skenazy



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As I was flying to New York from Los Angeles about a month ago, the flight attendant announced that because of "heightened security," passengers in coach — yours truly — were expressly forbidden from using the bathroom that might be closest to us and required to march to the back instead. Apparently, if we took a few steps forward, bladders full, this could all too easily be construed as our rushing the cockpit to execute the pilots and commandeer the plane.

Yup. Except for the little fact that most cockpit doors are reinforced and — oh, yeah — locked. Not to mention the fact that today's passengers are ready to tackle anyone who points so much as a spoon at a stewardess.

My question, then: When is security no longer "heightened"? It's been more than a decade since 9/11. So is the answer "never"? We're supposed to consider all privy-bound passengers as potential terrorists for the rest of our days?

Meekly I padded to the back lavatory and waited in the longish line. But though I finally got the relief I'd been seeking, I have yet to get any relief from the drumbeat of "FEAR, FEAR, FEAR!" that's pounding like a garage band in America's head. We're told it's banging away for our own good, so how dare we question it? But — can't we?

No sooner was I wondering this than a friend sent me a leaked Transportation Security Administration document posted on the website Techdirt stating:

"As of mid-2011, terrorist threat groups present in the Homeland are not known to be actively plotting against civil aviation targets."

In other words, the TSA knows darn well that it is engaging in security theater — the semblance of making things safer without actually making a real difference. Yet it persists in making us remove our shoes and toss our unopened Cokes, for reasons we can't know. Is it for job security? Or that a bureaucracy in motion tends to stay in motion? Or is the TSA really trying to reassure us that it's got everything under control?



Because obviously, it doesn't and can't. Just about a week after this little lavatory frustration of mine, in came a guy with a gun to the Los Angeles International Airport, where he shot and killed a TSA agent.

So here's the adult truth: Nobody can ever have everything under control, and maybe it is insanity to try. After all, you can check millions of suitcases every day for guns and then have a man take out a gun before he gets to the X-ray machine.

Does that mean we should start checking every bag of every human who approaches an airport? Or a mall? Or a school?

Or does it mean that at some point, we have to accept that the times in which we live, though safe, are not perfectly safe? There always will be something we could not prepare for. That simple truth shouldn't translate into "therefore, we must try at all times to be even more prepared for even the most unlikely events," because that's the mindset that forbids passengers from using the nearest bathroom. It's the mindset that throws out unopened Cokes and makes old ladies take off their orthopedic shoes for pre-boarding inspection. It's the mindset that doesn't trust any person in any situation unless an official sanctions it.

What that simple truth should translate into is, "Live life and quit being paranoid."

Also, "Don't let the bureaucrats win."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy's column by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2013, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast