Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Quintessential soul food

By Rivy Poupko Kletenik






http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Challah is a Jewish food like no other. It is infused with ritual and meaning from about as far back as we go. It is a compelling teacher; instructing us with three essential Jewish ideas around eating, sustenance and Jewish women's spiritual life. All this from an unassuming — though stately — loaf of bread.

Strictly speaking, challah refers to the rich braided egg bread eaten on Sabbath and holidays. The word challah appears only once in the entire Torah, in the Book of Numbers:


When you enter the land to which I am taking you and you eat of the bread of the land, you shall set some aside as a gift to the Lord as the first yield of your baking, challah, you shall set aside a loaf as a gift. ..


Challah is the name of the portion that is separated and then given to the Kohen (priest) from each and every batch of dough kneaded in ancient times. The idea of the commandment is that bread, as the staff of life, the essential element of our sustenance, should always have as a part of its routine production an element of charitable giving, tzedakah. We should never take its blessing for granted, and we must share our gifts of the land with the priests who have no portion of their own. The first yield is given, not unlike the bikkurim, the first fruits offered yearly from the first produce of the land.

This giving of the first is powerful. The temptation to pluck that first grape, pomegranate, fig or date off the tree and pop right into our hungry mouth is quite human, but to offered the first as a gift is a discipline that teaches gratitude and humility.



Though there is no Holy Temple in Jerusalem, a remnant of this practice continues. After preparing the dough, we recite a blessing and simply separate a small piece — about walnut-sized — make a blessing, burn it, and then dispose of it respectfully. How the word challah became the name of our weekly Sabbath bread, I do not know. But how poignant is it that Jewish bread took on the identity of the mitzvah (religious duty) associated with it? Lesson number one? There is no eating without giving.

Next lesson: Challah comes in twos, teaching us to trust that the Lord will indeed provide manna, bread from above, is the quintessential object lesson for faith. It fell from heaven in the desert and sustained the people Israel for 40 years. To inscribe this core experience into our collective memory, generation after generation, we place a double portion of bread, two challahs, under a cover every Sabbath. Throughout our 40 years in the desert, not only were we dependent upon the Divine's daily delivery of "groceries," but even more — a double portion of dew-covered manna was delivered every Friday so the Sabbath would not be desecrated by gathering of manna.

Right there, on our weekly Sabbath table, the challah becomes our teacher. The cover is an enchanting reminder of the layer of dew that sheltered the newly fallen manna, while the two challahs represent the double portion that fell miraculously from heaven. Our weekly challah may not have fallen from heaven, but it surely appears no less, by the grace of G0D.

Onto lesson three: There's history baked in that challah! Jewish women's stories are braided into those crusty loaves.


STIMULATION AND INSPIRATION

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Women, traditionally the bread makers, came to express themselves creatively through two challah-related practices. The first is the very shaping and creation of challah. My grandmother, not unlike many a bubbie from the alter heim, the old country, would fashion various challah shapes for the each of the different holidays; a ladder challah for Shavuos, a hand challah for Hoshanah Rabbah, a bird challah for Rosh Hashanah (along with the more traditional sweet raisin-crown Challah).

As our children and I would bake together, we allowed our creativity to come to shape in the form of loaves fashioned to resemble menorahs, Jonah in the whale — the sky's the limit!

The second venue for creativity was the writing of prayers, t'chines, for the taking of the challah ritual. T'chine is the Yiddish name for the women's devotional prayers created by and for women among Ashkenazic communities.

According to Chavah Weissler, in her work, Voices of the Matriarchs many t'chines, evolved around mitzvahs and rituals unique to women, among them, of course, challah baking. Here is a sampling of this most lovely of prayer genres:

May my challah be accepted as the sacrifice on the altar was accepted. May my mitzvah be accepted just as if I had performed it properly…May the Divine grant that I and my husband and my children be able to nourish ourselves….

Lord of all worlds, in your hands is all blessing. I come now to honor your holiness, and I pray you to give your blessing on what I bake. Send an angel to guard the baking, so that everything will be well baked, will rise nicely, and will not burn, to honor your holy Sabbath and over which one recites the holy blessing — as you blessed the dough of Sarah and Rebecca, our mothers…


Challah teaches by telling the story of long, but not lost, traditions embedded delicately in women's everyday customs. The women of Yemen offered a prayer at the time of the grinding of the flour, while the Marrano women of Portugal prayed secretly that their tithing would replicate the tithing practiced in the ancient holy land. Treasured are these precious expressions from long ago — they reflect the deep connections and meanings that women created around their baking of challah.

As you ponder taking up this magnificent of Jewish practices, the baking of challah, you will need a recipe — that's for sure — and some patience with technique. But you will assume your place among all those that came before you. You will be actualizing the perpetuity of profound Jewish ideas of humility, appreciation as you draw out from yourself creativity, and satisfaction of passing on to your child the warm deliciousness of love, home and Sabbath — what could be better?

JewishWorldReview.com regularly publishes uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Have a question that's been tickling your brain or wish to comment? Please click here.

JWR contributor Rivy Poupko Kletenik is an internationally renowned educator and Head of School at the Seattle Hebrew Academy.


Previously:


Tree hostility

Mad Men Mussar
How to beat those down-home High Holiday blues





© 2013, Rivy Poupko Kletenik

FOOT_DELIMITER ; echo $article_footer; } ?>

Quantcast