Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 21, 2012/ 7 Kislev, 5773

We all pay for Thanksgiving Day shopping

By Rekha Basu




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | At first blush, a California woman's petition against Target stores for making her work on Thanksgiving may have seemed like a staffing issue better settled quietly between an employee and her boss.

But C. Renee touched a nerve with her call to the store to "take the high road and save Thanksgiving for employees like me and our families by saying no to 'Thanksgiving Creep.' "

As of this writing, the petition has surpassed 250,000 signatures on the Change.org website. It's one of more than 70 petitions aimed at discouraging stores from opening as early as 8 p.m. on Thanksgiving Day to lure in Christmas shoppers with special discounts.

Some posts are from consumers, some from workers. One came from Afghanistan and said, "It isn't right to have Wal-Mart employees work all Thanksgiving Day because they could lose their job if they do not go into work."

These writers raise an appropriate question. What does a holiday mean if a certain segment of society is de facto excluded from celebrating it?

As the traditionally largest shopping day of the year has expanded from the Friday after Thanksgiving to midnight on Thanksgiving to now Thanksgiving evening, it's not just employees who pay a price -- though they pay the biggest one, some having to go in hours before opening. In a spiritual sense, all of us pay when we begin to think of what once was a day reserved for family and friends as just another day of commerce.

Wal-Mart opened the door to Thanksgiving Day shopping, and now Target, Sears and Best Buy are following suit. It's billed as optional and framed as a fun, even madcap exercise. But for people on tight budgets, or desperate to land a coveted Christmas gift, it can feel obligatory.

If the best sale of the season requires you to be on a store line Thanksgiving evening and guarantees you will have the hard-to-find gadget for Christmas, the pressure is high.

I know because the year my husband died, I spent one long December night in a Target parking lot amid snow flurries to get my younger child the Nintendo Wii he wanted. I'd struck out on every other attempt to find it, and he'd had a rough year. At least that wasn't a holiday night.

Once, even the idea of shopping on Sundays -- traditionally a day of rest and worship -- seemed offensive. A 1977 New York Times column decried it as "Sunday imperialism" and said it completed "the integration of family and market."

Not quite, it turns out. That's being completed this year.

"The market will pursue its conquest of the city," wrote author Rob Manoff, "and for what we buy on the Lord's day we will pay a high price indeed: the loss of time and space to do other things, to think other thoughts, to be other people."

Now it's hard to imagine not being able to shop on Sundays. Irregular or double work shifts, child-care arrangements and other complications of daily life make that a convenience some of us would be loath to give up. It's the same with evening shopping hours. Some Wal-Marts are open around the clock on non-holidays.

But not everywhere. In some countries, including parts of France and Italy, there are sacrosanct times of day. Weekdays from 1 to 5 p.m. are set aside for rest, and no amount of money would get a village merchant to open a store then.

Here we've lost the ritual of down time. We race through life, eating meals at our desks or in our cars, spending evenings on the computer and cellphone multi-tasking and shuttling between activities -- our own and the children's.

We don't even take all our vacation days. Of the 12 days America's workers typically get, only 10 are used, an Expedia study finds.

All of that argues for at least three or four days a year to be set aside as safe zones, free from the ubiquitous reach of capitalism. We need to remind ourselves that the things that make life meaningful -- slow-cooked meals enjoyed with family and good friends, the stages in children's lives that will never return, serving food to people in need or in other ways reaching out to share the bounty -- can't be bought and sometimes take precedence over making and spending money. And we need to model that message for our kids.

If enough people stay away from stores Thursday, maybe retailers will get the message. Here's to a happy and meaningful Thanksgiving.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Rekha Basu is a columnist for the Des Moines Register.



© 2011, Distributed by Scripps Howard News Service

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles