Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 29, 2012/ 15 Kislev, 5773

'Red Dawn' remake reflects China's box-office pull

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) It must be a source of great comfort to know that no matter how desperate one's life might become, at least no one can force you to watch "Red Dawn."

I receive no such comfort, of course. It is my job to watch movies like "Red Dawn." In fact, I can recall sitting across a table from a beautiful young actress recently and thinking: "This is a nice perk of the job, but it hardly makes up for having to see "Red Dawn."

I am not speaking of the "Red Dawn" of 1984, a Cold War drama directed by John Milius that seems like "Citizen Kane" when compared to the 2012 remake, which invaded unsuspecting theaters in time for Thanksgiving.

In the original, a group of Colorado high school students form an insurgency after the Russian army, assisted by troops from Cuba and Nicaragua, invades the United States.

The remake, directed by Dan Bradley, stars hunky Aussie Chris Hemsworth ("Thor" and "The Avengers") and Josh Hutcherson ("The Hunger Games") as two young men from Spokane, Wash., who lead an underground movement to repel an invasion by North Korea.

There are rumors that the enemy in the remake was supposed to be China - a much more logical and formidable enemy - but was changed at the last minute for reasons we are about to explain.

To maintain this column's tax-exempt status, we are obliged periodically to educate and enlighten our readers, so here is a secretly recorded conversation between two movie studio executives with direct knowledge of the making of "Red Dawn."

The following conversation may have taken place:

STUDIO EXEC A: There is a problem with the "Red Dawn" remake.

STUDIO EXEC B: What's wrong; is hunky Chris unavailable?

A: No, he's still in.

B: Is it hunky Josh?

A: No, he's still attached to the project.

B: Then there is no problem with the "Red Dawn" remake. We make this stupid movie with a couple of unknown actors, and then our studio (MGM) goes bankrupt and delays the opening for three years. In the meantime, our unknown actors have become famous in other movies so we're sitting on top of a big holiday action movie with stars who didn't command movie-star salaries.

A: But we still have a problem.

B. What is it?

A. It's the Chinese.

B. What about them?

A. We can't portray them as the bad guys in the movie.

B. What do you mean? We already filmed the Chinese as the bad guys.

A. I know. But we have to change it.

B. Why?

A. We're catching a lot of flak from studio accountants.

B. What's their problem with the Chinese?

A. China's too big a movie market to insult. If we ever want to open this movie in China, and you know that we will, their government is going to frown upon being portrayed in such an unfavorable light.

B. You've got to be kidding me.

A. I don't kid about foreign markets. This could be worth a lot of money to the company, and there is no logic to insulting people who want to spend their money on our product.

B. I've never heard of such a thing. This is unprecedented.

A. Is it? I don't recall the villains in the "Twilight" movies being teenage girls.

B. That's ridiculous.

A. You think it's a coincidence that Nazis are used as movie villains so much? There is no potential box office among the Nazi demographic.

B. Now I've heard everything. So what is your solution?

A. We change the Chinese bad guys to North Korean bad guys. "Red Dawn" will never sell in North Korea anyway.

B. Who is going to believe that North Korea could mount a land invasion of the United States?

A. All of a sudden, you're worried about realism? Have you read the script of "Red Dawn"?

B. It's as real as wizards flying around on brooms.

A. But that was a fantasy. This is supposed to be a realistic political drama.

B. I must have missed that memo.

A. OK, it's just an obvious ploy to steal money from teenage movie audiences using hunky actors with big guns, but there has to be some semblance of realism.

B. Have YOU read the script of "Red Dawn?"

A. Regardless, we have to make the change.

B. But I don't understand how that can be done at this late date. Filming has been completed.

A. Allow me to introduce you to the digital age.

B. What do you mean?

A. You know those computer geeks down the hall? They can push a couple of buttons and digitally change the military uniforms from Chinese to North Korean.

B. Is that possible?

A. They could change you to North Korean right now.

B. That's frightening.

A. No, that's money.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Fall movie season ends with lessons learned
The 10 best Bond villains ever
Readers weigh in on confusing movies
10 most confusing movies of all time
Do you enjoy going out to the movies?
Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me
Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles