Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov 22, 2011 / 25 Mar-Cheshvan, 5772

Unfortunate Reality (TV)

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Do you know what I want to be when I grow up, Daddy?

I am so proud of my little girl. You want to be a doctor? Or maybe a medical researcher?

Don't be silly, Daddy. I want to be a reality-TV star.

Huh?

I have it all figured out. First I'll make a sex tape with my boyfriend -- preferably a professional athlete -- and then I'll make sure somebody steals it and makes it public.

A WHAT kind of tape?

I'll pretend to be embarrassed, of course. That will help me win a multimillion-dollar settlement -- and the ensuing publicity will launch my reality-TV career.

But, honey, what about your mother?

Not to worry, Daddy. Mom will be involved. I'll get the whole family involved. After all, I need bit players to create conflict and good drama. You'll play the role of a prudish father.

But I AM a prudish father!

Oh, Daddy, you need to get with the times. America is much different than it was when you grew up. In the old days, people had to work boring jobs and produce some tangible value to get paid. Now all we need to do is be pretty and famous.

But your mother and I don't want a camera crew following us around in our home. We don't want our private lives broadcast for the world to see.

You are such a fuddy-duddy, Daddy. Look, most of our show will be fake anyhow. We'll make up family problems and pretend to solve them. It's like acting.

But it is NOT acting. Real actors are committed to their craft and study for years to evoke emotions and truths that help others better understand humanity.

You are SO 1970s, Daddy. In the modern era, all you need to do is present a made-up story that captures people's attention and the ratings will soar. Then you get to hobnob with rich and famous people, live in big houses, drive nice cars and wear expensive clothes.

But I want my daughter to have wealth of spirit, not of material things!

You'll change your mind once our brand is established. The endorsements will roll in. We'll be rich beyond belief.

Honey, do you remember where your mother hid the bourbon?

I'll get an offer to do a spread in Playboy and meet lots more professional athletes hanging out at Hef's mansion. I'll marry one, too. Our multimillion-dollar wedding will be broadcast for all the world to see!

But your wedding should be a private affair for your family and closest friends! Privacy is a precious, wonderful thing.

I know what you're thinking, Daddy: that the obsession with wealth and fame among America's young people is a troubling turn of events. Fewer kids want to study to be doctors or engineers. They want to be rich and famous and superficial -- just like the reality-TV stars.

That's right, honey. Your mother and I want you to find meaning and purpose in life. We want you to be a good citizen. We want you to find a career that helps others. We want you to have a family and know deep, lasting love and happiness -- not just superficial wealth and fame.

Oh, Daddy, I can't help that that is what I want to be when I grow up. It's what lots of young Americans want nowadays. You're going to have to get used to it.

But, but --

But what, Daddy?

But you're only 5!


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2011, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles