Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 4, 2011 / 7 Mar-Cheshvan, 5772

An iPhone 4S for all seasons

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | This is the kind of news that could give a GPS maker, or a seller of small digital cameras, agita, an Italian word for heartburn: How about a pocket-sized device that can really and effectively take the place of a GPS or a small digital camera, and also works great as a phone, e-mail device, text message sender, music and video player, and a Web surfer? Oh, and how about pricing it at $399 with a contract from one of three wireless carriers?

I speak of Apple, Inc.'s iPhone 4S, released in October and received here recently for review. My test unit came with a stunning 64 Gbytes of storage, double the 32 GB of my "regular" iPhone 4, itself released about 15 months ago. You can buy an "unlocked" 64 GB iPhone 4S for $849, which is steep, but which frees you to use AT&T or any other GSM-based wireless carrier here and overseas, with or without a contract.

If Apple had done nothing else beyond doubling the storage on the device for the same cost, it would be a singular achievement well worth celebrating. But the firm did quite a bit more, including a dual-core processor for the phone, so let the cork-popping begin.

First, a word about Siri, the voice-activated software included with the 4S. Press a button and you can ask Siri a question: "What's the weather going to be tomorrow?" Answers are generally fast and accurate, though there are some questions Siri can't handle. Apple is calling this "beta" software, which means the program isn't fully finished, that it will likely be tweaked and revised before a final version is released. But it is a tremendous addition to the phone, and one of the top reasons to get one.

About all that extra storage with the 64 GB model: As more and more applications are made available, we're going to need more storage. I fully expect to see a 1-Terabyte smartphone at some point within my lifetime, probably within the next 10 years. For now, the 64 GB storage here is superb, expansive, and wonderful. We'll all find ways of filling it up, I'm sure.

One of those ways will likely be with the incredible, high-res photos produced by the iPhone 4S's 8-megapixel camera. I remember when, about 13 years ago, tech pioneer Philippe Kahn demonstrated a 1-megapixel camera-in-a-phone; now we're at a level that's just stunning. The difference in photo quality between the iPhone 4 and the 4S is an order of magnitude. The new iOS 5 operating system for the iPhone - running on several generations of the device - allows "swipe" zooming when taking pictures; just pinch or expand two fingers on the screen to zoom out or in.

The camera - excuse me, the iPhone 4S - also shoots 1080p video, known to most of us as "high def" video. That's another plus, and perhaps another extra device no longer needed: farewell, then, to the now-discontinued Flip video camera.

Now, there have been media reports about allegations of poor battery performance. I haven't seen it yet, and, believe me, I've tried. The battery life on this review unit has been on a par with, if not a bit better, than the iPhone 4. In other words, I can go for a day or three without charging under "light" usage conditions. Otherwise, as with my iPhone 4, I would charge the 4S at night and have it ready in the morning.

Even a nightly charge situation is better than any Android-based phone I've seen, where "battery drain" is a phrase one quickly learns.

This brings up another point: the iPhone 4S has the same form factor as the iPhone 4. If you're stifling a yawn at that news, consider: there are tons of accessories for the iPhone 4 that'll work with the 4S, including my PowerSkin battery pack/iPhone case ($69.99 at http://bit.ly/uuA4fk), which doubles my phone's power and which saved me on several overseas stops this year. In short, I can be productive and useful with the iPhone 4S and a bunch of extra items right now, instead of having to wait weeks or months for new gear to arrive.

Another very useful item, the ZeroChroma.com iPhone case/flip stand called the TEATRO-S, price $39.99. Set this up on an airplane tray table, plug in headphones and you're good to go with truly personalized inflight entertainment.

Bottom line: the iPhone 4S is a great smartphone, a worthwhile upgrade, and is likely to be a coveted holiday item. Apple's Website says there's a 1-2 week wait for shipment of phones ordered today, so a word to the shopping-wise should be sufficient here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2011, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles