Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov 29, 2011 / 3 Kislev, 5772

We Can Stop the Crazy Train Before It Gets to Greece

By Bernard Goldberg



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Let's face it. We're a deeply divided country. You can make a case, I guess, that it's not the American people who disagree on just about everything; it's the politicians. And there's no question that the two parties "disagree profoundly on a vision of government," as an editorial in the Wall Street Journal puts it.


But we're the ones who send gladiators to Washington to fight our battles. They're just doing what we supposedly want. And the so-called supercommittee's failure to come to an agreement on deficit reduction is just the latest piece of evidence indicating how polarized we are.


Some of us want smaller government and lower taxes. Others don't want the government to touch their entitlements and want the "rich" to pick up the tab. Some think we're on an unsustainable path to economic collapse. Others think we can pretty much go on this way forever. Each side thinks the other side is intransigent. And we don't like each other very much, either.


What to do? Well, let's imagine that Congress gets together long enough to put a referendum before the American people. And the question we'd have to vote on is this: Would you be willing to split this nation in two: a Blue State America and a Red State America; a liberal America and a conservative America; each with the ability to write its own laws and its own rules? Each side could put in place all the pieces to fit its vision of what America should be.


We could divide the country in several ways. All the land east of the Mississippi River could be Blue America; all the land to the west could be Red America. Or we could divide the country north and south; the north could be Blue America and the south could be Red America. Think of it as the Civil War without the war.


People could move to whatever country they wanted to live in. We can work out the pesky details about selling and buying houses and finding jobs later.


Under this plan, Americans and their elected officials would no longer have profoundly different visions of what their country should be. In Blue America they could vote for all the entitlements they want and raise taxes to 40 percent, or 100 percent if that's what they want. What they do is their business. In Red America they could cut taxes along with the size of government, deep six all sorts of red tape, and let the free market do its thing.


So here's my question: After a few years (at most), which America do you think would be thriving — the one with big government and high taxes or the one with low taxes and small government? Which America would be a dynamic economic force producing a high standard of living for its citizens and which would look like Greece?


It'll never happen you say. And, of course, you're right. But we can accomplish the same goal in a more mundane way. How about we hold an election. We could do it in November 2012. About 40 percent of Americans say they're conservatives and about 20 percent say they're liberal. If they decide to vote that way for a change, we may finally stop the crazy train that, as of the moment, is speeding its way to Greece.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Bernard Goldberg, the television news reporter and author of several bestselling books, among them, Bias, a New York Times number one bestseller about how the media distort the news. He is widely seen as one of the most original writers and thinkers in broadcast journalism. Mr. Goldberg covered stories all over the world for CBS News and has won 10 Emmy awards for excellence in journalism. He now reports for the widely acclaimed HBO broadcast Real Sports.

He is a graduate of Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey and a member of the school's Hall of Distinguished Alumni and proprietor of BernardGoldberg.com.


Previously:


11/22/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/15/11: The Dumbest Media Question I've Ever Heard
11/09/11: What If Herman Cain Did It?
11/08/11: What If Herman Cain Were a Lib?
11/02/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/01/11: We're Approaching the Tipping Point
10/25/11: A Response to the Angry Purists
10/18/11: They're Waiting for Reagan to Hit the Campaign Trail
10/12/11: Read This!!! --- But Only If You Have Nothing Better To Do
10/04/11: Can Obama Win Re-Election?
09/27/11: It's NOT the Economy Stupid, It's Theology
09/20/11: Bad News on the Doorstep
09/09/11: Hypocrisy!
09/06/11: Back to the Future
08/24/11: Hillary vs. Obama in 2012? It'll Never Happen --- I Don't Think
08/22/11: Warning: Conservatives May Be Harmful to Your Mental Health
08/17/11: Warren Buffett, Coddled Billionaire
08/11/11: Too Much Balance in the Media?
08/04/11: All Aboard the Crazy Train
08/01/11: Liberal Hate Speech
07/25/11: With All Due Respect, Go Fly a Kite
07/20/11: Who Is A ‘Natural Born Citizen’?
07/18/11: Guess Who's Not Paying Their Fair Share
07/12/11: Against More Taxes? You May Be a Terrorist!
07/11/11: Casey Anthony: The TV Show
07/06/11: Standards and Double Standards at MSNBC
06/29/11: Is Jon Stewart A Racist?
06/21/11: Let's Play the Race Card --- Just for Fun Of Course
06/20/11: Sarah Palin and Weiner's Weiner
06/03/11: Memo to GOP: Turn Mr. Obama into Mr. Yesterday
05/20/11: I Get Letters From People Who Should Be Locked Up
05/09/11: Is ‘Torture’ Ever Justified?
05/02/11: The Promiscuous Use of the R Word
04/19/11: The Man Behind the Million Dollar Smile
04/12/11: What's the Difference Between Libs in Politics and Libs in the Media?
04/08/11: An Idea Whose Time Has Come — and Gone
03/28/11: The Pundits Are Driving Me Crazy --- And You Thought Qadaffi Is Nuts
03/14/11: No Liberal Bias at NPR — Just Ask NPR
03/10/11: The media's frustration
03/01/11: Progressives Lost in Time . . .
02/23/11: The Lamestreams Strike Again --- This Time in Madison
02/03/11: You MUST Own a Gun --- Or Else!
01/20/11: It Was Horrible, I tell you … HORRIBLE!
01/11/11: Here We Go Again . . .
01/06/11: You Go, Oprah
12/28/10: A Year-Ender --- The MSM and Obama's Fall from Grace 12/14/10: Thank
Heaven for Rich People

12/02/10: The Phony Nobility of Wikileaks

© 2011, Bernard Goldberg

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles