Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 2, 2010/ 25 Mar-Cheshvan, 5771

Too good to be true

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Democrats were just getting warmed up, but I knew it was too good to be true.

Ah, yes, you speak of the negative reaction to the aggressive government expansion and spending that President Obama and the Democrats gave us.

That's right. I was hoping America would embrace more of the cushy policies many European countries enjoy.

Such as the "free" health care the Democrats passed into law? Every day, some new, excessive cost is revealed, proving that humorist P.J. O'Rourke was right when he said, "If you think health care is expensive now, wait until it is free."

But I was looking forward to a bigger government with more government jobs protected by big unions.

I hate to break it to you, but much of Europe has no choice but to slash costs. According to USA Today, the United Kingdom is cutting spending by 20 percent -- it will eliminate nearly 500,000 government jobs by 2015.

Well, at least if you get canned in Europe, the benefits are generous.

The UK now limits unemployment benefits to 12 months -- whereas some in the U.S. have been collecting unemployment for up to two years!

If it weren't for President Obama's stimulus dough and unemployment extensions, things would be plenty worse here!

Tell that to the Germans. Germany responded to the global downturn the exact opposite way we did. The Germans reined in unnecessary spending. Their economy is booming. Their unemployment rate is down to 7.5 percent and falling.

Perhaps, but I prefer the French approach. The French government makes it almost impossible to fire employees.

Which is why private French companies avoid HIRING employees. The unemployment rate in France is at 10 percent -- strikingly close to our own. Nearly 25 percent of young French people can't find work.

I don't care what you say, I want America to be more like France. Many work for the government there. They retire at 60 and if anyone messes with their benefits, thousands protest and riot in the streets.

You have that right. France is trying to raise the retirement age to 62 -- because its retirement fund is broke. So, like spoiled children, union workers and other protesters are doing all they can to shut down the economy.

Well, I'd rather have people protesting in support of my government benefits than people protesting against government spending, as many do in America.

You raise an interesting contrast. Those countries in which people protest like spoiled children -- protest for their own personal gain -- are the same countries that have low growth and a worrisome future. Many who protest here are trying to restrain a government run amok so that their children and grandchildren can know hope and prosperity in the future!

Ah, come on. We need the government to spread some wealth around.

But we're broke. Even before the wasteful stimulus spending -- even before the costly mess of a health care plan -- we had looming bills that will be hard to pay. USA Today says Social Security is in the red THIS year. The only hope we have of meeting our enormous obligations is massive economic growth. We cannot achieve massive growth until we scale back the government dead weight and uncertainty that are thwarting it.

Ah, nuts. Democrats got us so close to living in a European-style nirvana right here in America. I knew it was too good to be true!

You better hope we get our government programs and spending under control BEFORE it comes true.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2010, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles