Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 16, 2010 / 9 Kislev, 5771

Don't Cry For Me

By Ed Koch




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | President Obama traveled to Asia last week seeking to make a big splash and bring home trade agreements that help American exports. Notwithstanding the election debacle at home, many observers still believed the president was hugely popular abroad.

The arrival of the Obama entourage in India appeared to confirm that the President and First Lady still dominate the world stage. Their willingness to join the fun and get up and dance with Indian youth at a Hindu holiday celebration set a very attractive and nice Democratic motif. His smile is still dazzling. Her dancing was magnificent. But ultimately, no special trade concessions came from the India visit. In fact, the President's whole trip consisted of one fiasco after another. He was in Asia to help achieve a better trade balance with many of our trading partners, particularly China, with which the trade is unacceptably lopsided in their favor. However, he was rebuffed time and again.

The President asked our ally, South Korea, to sign a trade agreement, originally negotiated by President Bush, that would help level the playing field for our exports. South Korea refused, notwithstanding President Obama's entreaties to South Korea's president, Lee Myung-bak. Perhaps the President should have whispered in President Lee's ear, "Tomorrow, the first contingent of U.S. troops will be given marching orders to leave South Korea." Why do we put our young men and women in harm's way to defend South Korea when that country declines to treat us fairly on trade?

While the President did not go to North Korea which has refused to talk with the U.S. and others about giving up the nuclear bomb, The New York Times of November 12th conveyed a new retreat on our part with its headline, "Obama shifts tone to draw North Korea back to talks." Where did all the goodies go that South Korea and the U.S. previously provided to North Korea? How many times do we have to buy North Korea's cooperation simply to engage in discussions?

North Korea knows that because of our continued involvement in Iraq and Afghanistan (we now plan to stay in the latter until 2014), we don't have the military strength and more importantly, the will to actually engage them militarily. Because of the veto of North Korea's ally and protector, China, the U.N. Security Council would not even name North Korea as responsible for torpedoing -- with a torpedo made in China -- a South Korean naval vessel, killing 47 South Korean sailors.

China poses the most serious danger to us economically. The world's largest country has steadfastly refused to consider narrowing our huge adverse balance of trade with them. On top of that, the Chinese have become our largest creditor. They are funding much of our rising national debt and if they stopped or sold off our treasury notes and bonds, the results could be calamitous. Another dramatic failure.

While Obama was in Asia, the Iraqi government beset by near daily suicide bomber attacks against civilians, sought to forge a national unity government of Shiites, Sunnis and Kurds. The U.S. beseeched the Shiites to be accommodating to the Sunnis, the latter comprising 20 percent of the population and having run Iraq under Saddam Hussein. The American Ambassador, James F. Jeffrey, was in the negotiating room when a deal was struck to form a coalition government. But, according to The Times, "Only three hours into a parliamentary session called on Thursday to begin the process of approving an agreement on a new unity government, a member of the alliance led by the former prime minister Ayad Allawi [leader of the Sunnis, although himself a secular Shiite] walked out in protest." Well, you can't win them all. But how about winning some, especially when we have expended blood and treasure for seven years in Iraq and still have 50,000 combat troops there who are expected to stay indefinitely.

While Iraq teeters on the brink of civil war, Iran continues to move ever closer to developing its own nuclear bomb and already has the missiles to deliver it as far as Europe and to Israel, which it has repeatedly pledged to destroy. Iran views the Obama administration's policy of "soft power" as confirmation that we are a paper tiger unable and unwilling to confront the mullahs militarily.

However, the worst personal blow to President Obama must have been the repudiation by Britain and Germany of the way he is dealing with the Great Recession. The President's approach is to spend his way out of it, while the British and Germans' approach is deficit reduction. And they have not been shy about lecturing him publicly on the subject. Also, the G-20 meeting in South Korea spurned his request for a joint binding monetary policy. Our allies think it is hypocritical of the U.S. to demand that China stop manipulating its currency while we print money and engage in U.S. dollar manipulations.

Oh, there was one moment of thunderous applause for the president. It was in Indonesia, the country with the world's largest Muslim population, and the president's boyhood home, when he denounced Israel shortly before leaving the country. Well, you take your victories where you can find them.

The failure of the President's Asian trip reminded me of the debacle that was Eva Peron's last trip to Europe, as captured by the following lyrics from the musical "Evita."


Now, I don't like to spoil a wonderful story
But the news from Rome isn't quite as good
She hasn't gone down like they thought she would
Italy's unconvinced by Argentine glory
Face the facts, the Rainbow's starting to fade
I don't think she'll make it to England now


But it was The Times of November 12th that said it best: "President Obama's hopes of emerging from his Asia trip with the twin victories of a free trade agreement with South Korea and a unified approach to spurring economic growth around the world ran into resistance on all fronts on Thursday, putting Mr. Obama at odds with his key allies and largest trading partners. The most concrete trophy expected to emerge from the trip eluded his grasp: a long-delayed free trade agreement with South Korea, first negotiated by the Bush administration and then reopened by Mr. Obama, to have greater protections for American workers."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Sunday from 9-10 am . Comment by clicking here.

Archives


© 2010, Ed Koch

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles