Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 19, 2010 / 12 Kislev, 5771

Sometimes, simpler answer is better for display issues

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | How do you maximize computer screen space and flexibility? For many of us, this may not be a major issue: you have one computer, one display, and that's it. For others, it can get a bit more exciting.

Take me, and my "day job," where I serve as news editor for a pair of magazines published by a non-profit organization. I can spend a good five or six hours, at least, staring at a computer screen. And, earlier this year, I "downsized" from a 17-inch portable display to a 15-inch model, in order to make things easier when I travel.

But for the past three years, at least, I've had an external monitor hooked up to my notebook when I'm in the office. The external display, now a 24.5-inch (diagonally measured) screen, is often useful when working with photographs, publication layouts and other items.

Recently, I got it into my head that not only is it nice to have an external monitor, but it would also be nice to have one that pivots, so I can reorient the screen display into what is called "portrait" mode. It's easier to see an entire magazine page that way, or to work with photographs, and so forth.

I had one idea: split the video output from my MacBook Pro to drive two monitors, one of which would rotate into portrait mode. The folks at Matrox, a company that specializes in graphics solutions, sent along their "DualHead2Go" (STET) product, which lists for $233 and is available for about $5 to $7 less at several online resellers, and which will take the output from a Mac and support the external monitors. I did need to add a special video adapter to one of the DualHead2Go's external ports, a $35 expense, but such is life, I guess.

My goal was to connect the computer, via the Matrox unit, to two monitors: an I-Inc iH252, and a Dell 1707FP. The latter can rotate into portrait mode; hook up the monitors and all would be well.

Then, reality hit.

I got all the equipment, connectors, cables and so forth, and plugged everything in. Installed the special software, fired up the computer and - success: both monitors were active.

However, because the I-Inc monitor was using an HDMI connection, the Matrox unit treated it and the Dell 1707FP as a single display. Even though the Matrox software supposedly would move a single window to a given display, the HDMI thing seems to have thrown a monkey wrench into the plans. (I could have, I suppose, swapped out the HDMI for a VGA connection, but I wasn't going to go cable-crazy in my shopping.) And, Matrox conceded, the rotating-the-display feature of Mac OS X wouldn't play in this scenario.

Now, I'm not saying users should skip Matrox. They make good products, which a number of users swear by, and their solution might be right for you. However, it wasn't right for me in this situation, and I'll return the unit to the firm, with thanks for the trial.

I still had my problem, however. What to do? I shifted my focus (pun intended) on the I-Inc. monitor. It's big, bright and easy to work with. All that's missing was a way to rotate the screen display into portrait mode.

My answer, the Sanus Systems MD-115-G1, a desk mounted swing-arm system that not only moves the monitor around in all sorts of ways, but it allows for rotating the display. What's more, it gets the monitor off the desktop, which not only frees up some space, but also improves my posture and vision.

The Sanus product can be found online for around $80, and installation was sublimely easy. Once I'd clamped the bracket to my desktop, installing four small screws in the VESA-standard mounting holes secured the monitor to the mount and I was good to go. Pivoting has also worked quite well.

The greatest surprise has been the effect of lifting the screen to what is, essentially, eye level for me. I've really noticed a change in how easy it is for me to work, and I like it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles