Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 3, 2010 / 26 Mar-Cheshvan, 5771

Election cycle one long, teachable moment

By Marybeth Hicks





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's hard to say when this election got out of hand.

Some would argue it was the uproar in the Kentucky race for United States Senate, tarnished as it was with ridiculous accusations about Rand Paul's religious beliefs and a godhead called "aqua buddha."

In a cycle that included Christine O'Donnell's regrettable, "I'm not a witch," Meg Whitman's undocumented housekeeper, Nikki Diaz, crying on the shoulder of serial woman-scorned-attorney Gloria Alred, and West Virginia Gov. Joe Manchin shredding a copy of the cap and trade bill with real bullets, there has been no shortage of memorable, if not teachable, moments.

I think the election reached its fever pitch the night we had a family dinner and my 13-year-old daughter explained to her grandparents that the problem in America is "the rent is too damn high." Unfamiliar as they were with the illustrious Jimmy McMillan, late of the New York gubernatorial contest, Amy brought my laptop to the dining room to play (yet again) the Youtube.com video of The Rent Is Too Damn High party's mesmerizing candidate.

Too much election coverage in my house, or just a young teenager who wanted to get away with using the word "damn"? Hard to say.

One thing's for sure: My teens aren't the only ones that have been paying attention.

Only two years ago, America gave birth to its first "rock star" president. Barack Obama catapulted onto the political scene as a new and sensational celebrity. His concert-sized audiences and fainting fans, along with his politically "lite" message meant not to inform voters but to harness their emotions, captured the imagination of a new generation of the electorate.

It didn't hurt that a starstruck media maintained then-candidate Obama's über-cool image: young, hip, biracial, brilliant and liberal.

Unfortunately, a cool president does not a job market make. And what sounded two years ago like a call to idealistic action now plays like the tired, overwrought lyrics of a Dashboard Confessional song. (If you're over 40 or have no young people around the house, you'll just have to Google it. Sorry.)

When last week the president whined to Jon Stewart, "Yes we can, but…" the nation's youth exhaled a collective, cynical groan.

Welcome to politics, kids.

Meanwhile, the rest of us have stopped simply grumbling among ourselves while shelling out more and more in local, state and federal taxes, flushing our hard earned dollars down the proverbial toilet of government spending.

We stopped simply huddling together at cocktail parties and youth sporting events and in the parking lot after church, talking incredulously about the latest leftist assault on our values and our sensibilities and our pocketbooks.

We realized it would do no good to just nod in mutual disgust at stories about graphic sexual education for kindergarteners, and unions mandating membership for private childcare providers, and college professors teaching their radical anti-American beliefs to our young adults.

The conventional wisdom is that this vote is a rejection of President Obama and the radical Democrat agenda. Overwhelmingly, the experts say, we are sending the message that big government solutions such as national healthcare and "cap and trade" and federal bailouts are wrongheaded.

But this election cycle was more than that.

We traditional, conservative Americans started paying closer attention. We realized that despite the liberal media's portrayal of us, we're not alone, we're not stupid, we're not unsophisticated and we're not victims. We're patriots.

We're not just rejecting the Obama agenda. We're asserting the foundational principles upon which our nation was founded — the constitutional framework that protects us from government intrusion and allows us to enjoy the blessings of liberty.

This election cycle has reminded us that we don't want to be "fundamentally transformed."

With such a vital lesson to learn, it's been one continuous teachable moment around our house.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Marybeth Hicks, a wife of more than 20 years and mother of four children, lives in the Midwest. She uses her column to share her perspective on issues and experiences that shape families nationwide. To comment, please click here.


Archives




© 2009, Marybeth Hicks