Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 8, 2010 / 1 Kislev, 5771

Red Alert

By Alan Douglas




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My first piece of advice is, "Don't let you daughter go out of the house wearing red and don't let her date anyone wearing red who drives a motorcycle."

Two years ago a study in ScienceDaily reported that men wearing red are more attractive to women. Last week ScienceDaily reported a study showing that women wearing red are more attractive to men. Research covered in ScienceDaily previously concluded that male animals engaging in dangerous, show off behavior are more attractive to females than boring, good citizen, accountant-type animals. The "bad boy" animals attracted the girl animals and the risky behavior by the "bad boys" was rewarded with sex. The study said evolution might favor the "bad boy" animals as being more aggressive and invulnerable.

If the reports in ScienceDaily are to be believed, then folks, we have "trouble right here in River City." What is it about James Dean and Charlie Sheen that attract women? And the same goes for men attracted to dangerous women. The thrill of flirting with trouble brings an adrenaline rush. But what is it that causes the "good girl" to lose her status and position in the community, avoid the nice guys, and be drawn to a "bad boy" like a moth to a flame?

We all look for some trouble. People seek thrills to rise above the boredom of everyday life. Don't underestimate memories that last a lifetime. The adrenaline filled moment of rebellion makes us feel powerful and alive. Our memories are often snapshots of short bursts of excitement, just before we crashed and burned. Poet Robert Frost said that for human beings, "Happiness makes up in height for what it lacks in length." We seek new sights and experiences for the physical and for the mental thrill. At the circus we are entertained by the hall of mirrors. Human beings enjoy not only the challenge, but the disorientation of the maze. The fear generated by a roller coaster can be exhilarating. Many great accomplishments and noble battles pose risks but that isn't what I am pondering.

Seeing exotic lands is thrilling. We understand there are "accepted risks." If you chose to climb the mountain you might fall off the mountain. Starvation, frostbite, death, and crowded airports are all endured willingly by people anxious to see more of our world. G.K. Chesterton's advice for traveling was, "An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered."

One motivation for placing ourselves in harm's way is the desire to provoke a response from others. A child at risk is a parent's nightmare. The child might be rebelling, seeking attention, or asking for help by playing with fire. Faced with a world of imposed rules, divorce, and frustration, children discover danger can be powerful and empowering; especially if it is the power to destroy themselves.

My belief is that we get into trouble for the thrill, but we keep getting in trouble to be acknowledged. Harvard philosopher, psychologist and brother of writer Henry, William James confessed, "I now perceive one immense omission in my psychology: the deepest principle of human nature is the craving to be appreciated." We all want to be noticed, to be recognized. Assassins, serial killers, and reality television stars might say they are making a statement, but most just want to be remembered. This explains why we ignore the counsel of others. Youth and alcohol account for some of our rash missteps, but we are all guilty at one time of ignoring warnings from those we trust. Author Erica Jong lamented that, "Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't." If you feel you need to dive in and risk your life to live "on the edge" you know something is wrong.

My advice, which you might ignore, is to find excitement in each day of your life and then celebrate. Parents and teachers should offer more excitement each day to their children and students. The Greek biographer and philosopher, Plutarch said, "The mind is not a vessel to be filled, but a fire to be kindled." Daily excitement and adventure make life fascinating. Build some excitement into your life everyday, you will find stupid and destructive activities to be…well, stupid and destructive. Make your bucket list of adventures to do and plan when you will do it. Times are bad, you can't afford it, and you don't have the time, are all excuses. There is ample pain and drudgery in all of our lives, but we should not let it define us. Have you ever played croquet, caught a fish, witnessed a space launch, or been to Iceland? What haven't you done?

Napoleon Bonaparte appreciated life's dangers and possibilities when he raised his glass and said, "Champagne - in victory we deserve it; in defeat we need it." One of my all time favorite quotations is by columnist and speechwriter, Peggy Noonan. Noonan said, "Life should not only be grumbled about, but celebrated."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Alan Douglas, an author, media executive, speaker, and attorney, lives con brio- except when he is grumpy.


Previously:

Readers Respond Regarding Rabbi
Readers: I Need Your Help with my Rabbi
Humphrey Bogart and P. T. Barnum on Fighting with Family and Friends
Columbus, Honors and Hound Dogs
The Free Lunch
When your child suffers
Conversational Transmitted Diseases
Conservative, Liberal or American
Paris, Antarctica and Shopping
Personal Protection
Dispute Resolution
Jumped or Pushed?
Friends and Acquaintances
Revenge and Vindication

© 2010 Alan Douglas

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles